Login to LibApps

AMS 201 - Introduction to American Studies: Home

. Introduces students to ideas, methods, tools, and theories in the vibrant field of American studies.

Finding Resources about the West campus

Many of the sources documenting the establishment & early days of the West campus are not available digitally but the following should help the research process.

Early Important West campus documents
ASU West History
Some core documents about the establishment and growth of the West campus of ASU were digitized and made available through the ASU Repository.

 

Newspapers
Newspapers throughout Arizona carried information about the creation and building of the the West campus.  Westside newspapers [ e.g.Glendale, Peoria etc] along with other Valley newspapers such as the Arizona Republic, Phoenix Gazette, East Valley Tribune and Tucson newspapers carried articles.

Access World News
Has full text of many smaller local & regional newspapers. Unfortunately, the full-text of some of these does not go back to the 1980s & 1990s.
Arizona Republic, 1999-
CDNews: Arizona Republic, 1987-2009. 
Local networked database covering the full-text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic, the Phoenix Gazette, and ABG (Arizona Business Gazette). To access, use a Library computer. 

Lexis-Nexis
Search news section

 

Other Resources
These resources index print documents that can be scanned & sent to you via Interlibrary Loan. Some documents may be duplicated in the ASU Repository.
ASU Special Materials Index
ASU Newspaper Index
Arizona Archives Online
Physical copies of print sources are available in the Luhrs Reading Room, Hayden Library 4th floor, on the Tempe campus. Collection hours are limited to M-F 8-5pm  Luhrs Reading Room, 4th floor Hayden Library, limited service hours

 

Databases
ABInform, 1923-
Business database. Search "ASU West" or "ASU West campus" and sort by oldest first to find earlier information 

Academic Search Premier, 1975-
General database; good database for information about higher education

Annotated Bibliography

 Keep these questions in mind when examining any source for a research paper or project, and get in the habit of questioning your sources. The goal is to become a knowledgeable consumer of information. You will not be able to answer all of these questions when examining and   annotating a source. A few require knowledge of the field being researched (sections 7 through 9 especially); however, the categories shown  here and discussed by Engeldinger* serve as a framework for anyone writing annotations.

Author Who is the Author? What is the author's occupation, position, titles, education, experience etc. Is the author qualified [or not] to write on this topic
Purpose What is the purpose for writing the article or doing the research? AN additional point is what type of source is it? [ e.g. scholarly study, research findings, popular article etc.]
Audience TO what audience is the author writing? Is it intended for the general public, scholars, policy makers, teachers, professionals, practitioners Etc? Is this reflected in the author's style of writing or presentation? How so?
Bias Does the author have a bias or make assumptions upon which the rational of the publication of the research rests?

Research 

Method

What method of obtaining data or conducting research did the author use? Is the article [or book] based on personal opinion or experience, interviews, library research, questionnaires, lab experiments, case studies etc?
Conclusions What conclusions does the author draw from the data?
Justification Does the author satisfactorily justify the conclusions from the research or experience? Why or why not?
Comparison With Similar Studies How does the study compare with similar studies? Is it in tune with or in opposition to conventional wisdom, established scholarship, professional practice, government policy etc.? Are there specific studies, writings, schools of thought, philosophies etc. with which this one agrees or disagrees & of which one should you be aware
Attachments Are there significant attachments or appendices such as charts, maps, bibliographies, photos, documents, tests, questionnaires? if not, should there be?
Usefulness Is the source useful or valuable for your research?

 *Engeldinger, E. (Winter 1988). Bibliographic instruction and critical thinking: The contribution of the annotated bibliography. RQ    28,195-202.
 

   bg 1999,rev.2010,5/2011

Education & History Librarian

Bee Gallegos's picture
Bee Gallegos
Specialties: History, Education, Children's & Young Adult Literature, Educational Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

Hours and Locations