Login to LibApps

ASU 101 College of Public Service and Community Solutions: Getting Started

Targeted to first-year students in the College of Public Service and Community Solutions

How To Use This Guide

This Library Guide is intended to support the coursework and research needs of education students enrolled in ASU 101 courses across the four campuses of Arizona State University and to support the research and instructional needs of faculty who work with them. 

Library Guides
Guides to finding the best resources on a subject or a specific course. 
Find a subject librarian

Public Service and Community Solutions @ ASU

Link to these for more information about and updates from the College of Public Service and Community Solutions                 .

College of Public Service and Community Solutions                

   School of Social Work

   School of Criminology and Criminal Justice

   School of Public Affairs

   School of Community Resources and Development

   

Article Databases


Academic Search Premier

This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has loads of full text. Depending on the topic, many ENG102 students will get all they need from Academic Search Premier.

Finding Articles using Academic Search Premier/Ebscohost

View this brief tutorial on how to effectively search this database:


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

This database is especially useful if you are still deciding which topic to research. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword. The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is it provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. All of the essays are available full text.

It also provides other useful fulltext information about each issue such as relevant articles from encylopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.


CQ Press Electronic Library 

A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc.which provides access to suite of CQ Press publications, including CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, and the CQ Political Reference Suite.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.


LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis includes newspapers from around the world, including the New York Times (but not the Arizona Republic).


Arizona Republic

Search the Arizona Republic from 1999-present.


Alt-Press Watch

Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues. 


Columbia International Affairs Online

Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.


PAIS International

Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature.


Online Reference Collections

Contains a large number of full text encyclopedias and other reference sources. Another great place to find background information.

Fast Facts, Statistics & More

A collection of reliable information resources on the Web from ASU Library:

Quick Reference Guide

Catalog Search


Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles: This is a keyword search.


Ask a Librarian

Hours and Locations