Login to LibApps

Africa and Europe: Home

A Guide to the History,Culture and Interactions of these two Continents
Subjects: History

Oetting Subject Guides

 


African and African-American Studies by Ed Oetting
This Library Guide primarily consists of resources that will aid in research in African and African-American Studies in a variety of fields.

 

History
by Ed Oetting, Bee Gallegos - last updated on Aug 13th, 2010
History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Human Rights
by Ed Oetting, Brad Vogus, Lisa Kammerlocher - last updated on Aug 31st, 2010

 

Military Science & Security
by Ed Oetting, Brad Vogus - last updated on Jul 20th, 2010
Covers the fields of Military Science, Terrorism & Security Studies


Politics and Elections
by Ed Oetting, Lisa Kammerlocher - last updated on Feb 3rd, 2010
Library guide covering resources for Politics and Elections with an emphasis on the United States

 

Medieval and Renaissance Studies
by Rachel Leket-Mor - last updated on Aug 13th, 2010
Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies

 Political Science
by Ed Oetting - last updated on Mar 11th, 2010
Resources for Political Science and Politics

 Primary Sources
by Ed Oetting - last updated on Aug 13th, 2010
This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Libraries or freely-accessible through the Internet

 

How to reach me

Ed is available to assist students with their research needs through the Libraries' dedicated subject liaison program.  Ed is on the Tempe campus.  My office address is Hayden C1T. Telephone: (480) 965-4579 or email: edding@asu.edu.  In addition, during the semester I will hold office hours in History, SHPRS.  I will be in  Coor  room 4499C on Mondays and Thursdays; 9:00 – 11:30am or by appointment.

Getting Started

Welcome to the History - Africa and Europe Library Guide.  The best way to navigate through through this site is by using the tabs at the top of each page.  Let me give a brief explanation as to how each section is organized and what it contains.  Let's start with:

Article Databases  This section primarily consists of databases that index and in some cases provide full text access to historical literature or to resources that will aid in historical research.  With few exceptions, these databases are accessible off-campus only to the current ASU community(students, faculty and staff).  The sub-tabs under this heading are more specific subject areas or categories of materials.  Current sub-tabs include: Newspapers and Newspaper Databases;and   Reference and General Resources .

Primary Sources  "Real" history is written using primary sources.  Through the internet, it is now possible to gain access to a huge wealth of primary source material that in the past would have been available only through visiting libraries and archives.  The Primary Sources page is divided into two main categories: resources available through ASU Libraries and sites freely available on the Internet.  The Primary Sources page concludes with a section on how to evaluate primary sources on the Internet.

 Web Resources  The web sites on this page are all available on the internet and do not necessarily fit into any of the other categories.  Included here are e-book sites, general history aggregator sites as well as sites of general interest for history. 

Citing Sources  Collected here are several links for sites relating to citation manual sources and to RefWorks.

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations