Login to LibApps

American History & Studies: Home

This guide provides resources for courses and programs in American History and American Studies

How to Reach Me

 

Ed is available to assist students with their research needs through the Libraries' dedicated subject liaison program.  Ed is on the Tempe campus.  His office address is Hayden Library, C1T. Telephone: (480) 965-4579 or email: edding@asu.edu.  In addition, during the semester he will hold office hours in History, SHPRS.  Ed will be in  Coor  room 4499C on Mondays and Thursdays; 9:00 – 11:00am or by appointment.  Please stop by!

Getting Started

 

Best Places to Get Started

Welcome to the American History & Studies Library Guide.  The best way to navigate through through this site is by using the tabs at the top of each page.  Let me give a brief explanation as to how each section is organized and what it contains.  Let's start with:

Article Databases  This section primarily consists of databases that index and in some cases provide full text access to  to resources that will aid in research in  American Studies in a variety of fields..  With few exceptions, these databases are accessible off-campus only to the current ASU community(students, faculty and staff).  The sub-tabs under this heading are more specific subject areas or categories of materials.  Current sub-tabs include: Newspapers and Newspaper Databases; and  Reference and General Resources

Primary Sources  "Real" history is written using primary sources.  Through the internet, it is now possible to gain access to a huge wealth of primary source material that in the past would have been available only through visiting libraries and archives.  The Primary Sources page is divided into two main categories: resources available through ASU Libraries and sites freely available on the Internet.  The Primary Sources page concludes with a section on how to evaluate primary sources on the Internet.

Web Resources  The web sites on this page are all available on the internet and do not necessarily fit into any of the other categories.  

Citing Sources  Collected here are several links for sites relating to citation manual sources and to RefWorks.

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Maps and Addresses

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations