Learning Outcomes
Students will know how to:
Students will be exposed to the literature of chemistry
They will be able to:
- Identify compounds and synonyms
- Find the Molecular Formula for a substance
- Find the CAS number for a substance
- Find the Physical Properties and characterics
- Find the compound name, CAS Number and Molecular formula
Students may use the following research tools to find chemical information
- Knovel
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- SciFinder Web
- Merck Index
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- Stat Ref see also How to Use Stat!Ref for help.
SciFinder Web
SciFinder Web is the web-based version of Chemical Abstracts, the world's largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information. Covers journal articles, patents, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from around the world.
Registration Instructions. After your registration is submitted to CAS, you will be emailed a link to authenticateyour registration. This link can only be used once and will only last 48 hours.
Register for a SciFinder Web Account
How to Explore by Substance Identifier
Getting Started
In order to thoroughly research your compound, you will need the following:
- Compound name
- Approved by your instructor
- Synonyms
- Molecular Formula
- CAS Number
This information can be found in the following resources:
- Merck Index-Use the "Search within" box next to the title to search only the Merck Index.
-Synonyms, CAS Numbers and molecular formulas
-Lists important references (Prepn = preparation)
-Gives therapeutic category and keywords which can be helpful in further searches. - SciFinder WebUse restricted to ASU faculty, staff and students for educational purposes only.
Must create an account with your ASU.edu email address prior to using resource.
All areas of chemistry and biochemistry. - Knovel-Electronic library of science and engineering handbooks and databases.
-Search "My Subscription" only.
-Contains synonyms, CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas as well as background information. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCAS Numbers, Molecular Formulas and physical properties for typical reagents used in the lab.
Additional Resources
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (4th edition) Provides in-depth articles about the chemical industry. Covers all aspects of applied chemistry including both chemicals/materials and related topics.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology - Alternate Link
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesLooking for background information? Here's a great place to start. Don't forget to take a look at the reference section for more information.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - Alternate Link
- Stat!RefGoodman and Gilman's
Using SciFinder Web
Here are a few tips to help you search for chemical compounds in SciFinder Web.
- Log into SciFinder Web. In class, you will be given a user name and password for this training session. If you would like to use SciFinder Web after the training session, don't forget to register for your own account.
- Explore Substance. Search by Substance Identifier. Enter your compound name and CAS Number.
- Select your compound and click on Substance Detail. Here you will find physical property, spectra and other chemical information on your compound.
Your Librarian |
Your Librarian |
Contact Info Tempe campus Noble Science & Engineering Library Room 130E 480-965-7601 linda.shackle@asu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
