Login to LibApps

COM 263 - Intro to Intercultural Communication: COM 263 - Introduction to Intercultural Communication

Essential library research tools for intercultural communication
Subjects: Communication

APA Citations

Most electronic resources now provide a citation for the item being viewed.  But sometimes these provided citations are incorrect.  Use these resources to review and assure that your citations are correct!

APA Web Guide from the OWL at Purdue  

A comparably thorough and easy to use guide, only for APA.

Citation Fox

Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.)  Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY

Getting Help

ASU Libraries provides varied options for obtaining help with your research, when you need it.  The Libraries offers live assistance

  • with 24/7 chat
  • by phone
  • by email
  • in person
    walk-in or by appointment

For more information connect to 

Ask a Librarian 

Ask a Librarian

Getting Started - Introductory Information

Don't know where to start?  Need some basic information on a cultural group?

Encyclopedias, especially subject-specific enclyclopedias, and general reference works are great resources when you are looking for overview information on a topic.  These resources often include a list of additional sources for even more information.

Here are two collections of general reference works and encyclopedias available online.

Connect to Gale Virtual Reference
Online collection of specialized subject encyclopedias.

Connect to Credo Reference Online
More than 600 reference books, across subject areas, speciaized Topic pages, videos, mind-maps, and links to journal articles.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

This database is especially useful if you are still deciding which topic to research. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword.The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is it provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. All of the essays are available full text.

View tutorial on using Opposing Viewpoints (4 minutes)

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete (C&MMC)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is the essential database/index for researching communication topics at Arizona State University.

How to Search in Communication and Mass Media Complete
C&MMC runs on the Ebsco database structure.  This brief tutorial on using Academic Search Premier covers the basics of searching in all Ebsco databases.

Advanced Tools in Ebsco databases (tutorial) This additional tutorial provides training for advanced tools in Ebsco databases including saving records in folders and emailing search results.


Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

This is the go-to index for all matters of theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Your Librarian

deg farrelly

Hayden Library C1H1



Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations