Login to LibApps

CRJ 302 Research Methods: Home

Search Tips

Finding the Full Text of Articles

The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:

Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article. 

Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.

If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.

These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).

Google Scholar

Selected Resources

Selected Databases for Scholarly Articles

Criminal Justice and Criminology


Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text - This resource includes full text covering major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies, and includes an informative summary of the findings, methodology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.


National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) - This collection is a federally funded resource offering justice, substance abuse, and drug policy information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.


Academic Search Premier - A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Included are topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects.


Sociological Abstracts - Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

SocIndex with Full Text - SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.






Statistical Information

Statistical Sources


Uniform Crime Reports – Published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Crime in the U.S. is the most comprehensive analysis of violent crime and property crime in the nation. The annual publication compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and many cities and counties. It also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. 


Bureau of Justice Statistics - BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.


ProQuest Statistical Insight - Indexes statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.






Social Sciences Librarian

Deborah Abston
Subjects:Social Work, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Public Affairs, Journalism & Mass Media, Community Resources & Development
ASU Libraries Downtown Phoenix campus
UCENT Building
Lower Level
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations