Login to LibApps

Citation Management Tools: Overview

This guide includes information about citation management tools, or applications used to organize your references, generate bibliographies, and collaborate with others.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools are applications used to save and organize your references in a personal database. Using your database of references, you can create citations or lists of references (bibliographies) according to different citation styles, and much more: you can share your research and collaborate with others.

If all you are interested in is generating citations for immediate use (that is, you don't plan to save/ organize your references), please use the following guide section: Citations Generating Tools.

If you are looking for a tool to manage your references, you have many options to chose from. Choosing the right one depends on your discipline and personal preferences. Some people prefer their personal database accessible from anywhere, while being able to work offline is a priority of others. Please note that ASU Libraries subscribes to RefWorks, and this is the citation manager we will be happy to help you with. Comparing some of the more popular citation managers according to these needs may be helpful - see the chart bellow.

 I need to… Consider Using Additional Information
Access my database online from anywhere RefWorks
EndNote Web
Zotero
Mendeley

RefWorks and EndNote Web are available to ASU affiliates;  the other tools are freely available on the web.
 
Access my database offline (i.e., when traveling) EndNote
Zotero
Mendeley

These applications have a desktop version that synchronizes with the online one.
Collaborate with others at ASU RefWorks
Sharing RefWorks folders with colleagues at ASU is easy. You can also collaborate with RefWorks subscribers outside of ASU.
Collaborate with others everywhere
Mendeley
Zotero
EndNote Web (subscribers only)
Mendeley and Zotero are freely available on the web; EndNote Web is available to institutional Web of Knowledge subscribers.
Insert in-text citations in Word  documents
RefWorks
EndNote
Zotero
Mendeley
You need to download and install the plugin.

Insert in-text citations in OpenOffice documents

EndNote
Zotero
Mendeley
You need to download and install the plugin.
Insert in-text citations in Google Docs
Zotero
Zotero works well with other Google tools as well.

Annotate my PDFs
Mendeley You can add notes to references in RefWorks, Zotero, and EndNote.

Search within my references (OCR for PDF files)
Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote
 

Use screen and webpage captures
Zotero  

Move a large body of PDF files into a citation manager
Mendeley  

 

 

Your Librarians

Still need help? Contact any of the subject librarians who manage this guide:

Qian Liu

Rachel Leket-Mor

Rene Tanner

Academic Social Networks

Some of the citation managers mentioned in this guide (Mendeley, Zotero) include features that accommodate social interactions in the academic settings. Similar applications that allow for easy communication and exchange of ideas with colleagues who share similar research interests include the following:

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Maps and Addresses

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations