Login to LibApps

EDA 505 American Education System - Burke: Home

Signature Assignment

This Educational Policy Analysis has multiple parts or sections.  This Library Guide is designed to assist the student in developing a)the educational policy proposal, and b)the literature synthesis.


Educational Policy Proposal - Select a contemporary policy that is useful, timely and relevant. The selected policy reform issue must be focused on improving the educational conditions of a diverse community. Each individual will write a proposal briefly (2-3 pages) describing the policy to be examinded, the need for this policy analysis and what will be done, what and how the project will be carried out.  Any references used to complete the proposal should be cited using APA.

Literature Synthesis - Write an approximately 7 page literature synthesis of the policy topic you selected. This literature synthesis should succinctly synthesize the major positions (pro/con) using the most relevant sources to understand the policy. Literature Synthesis Structure - Provide an introduction, divide the literature synthesis using appropriate sub-headings, include both sides of the issue and/or main ideas and conclude your literature synthesis by articulating the need to re-examine this issue in your context. You must cite at least 6 different sources. Use APA format.

Citing Sources

Cite your sources using APA format. The Citation Styles Library Guide provides guidelines and examples of APA.

ReWorks is a citation management software program available to all students. It allows you to export citations from databases into folders for storing & organizing.  It also formats citations using APA.

For assistance in using RefWorks consult the RefWorks tab in the Citation Styles Library Guide or the RefWorks Library Guide.

Select Resources for Contemporary Educational Policy Issues

The resources listed here can be used for contemporary educational policy issue ideas and/or for background information about an educational policy.

"National, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools"

Online encyclopedia that allows the user to "explore key ideas, practices and thinkers in informal education, lifelong learning and social action"

LB15 .E47 2003 Online also in print in West Reference, Hayden Reference
Core education reference resource that covers general educational information; great source for finding background information to better understand the topic

HM671 .E53 2007 Online also print copy in West Stacks

This center is charged with "producing and disseminateing high-quality, peer-reviewed research to inform education policy discussions"


The premier education databases are generally your first place to begin searching for journal articles.  They are listed first here followed by general databases that bring aspects of what is being discussed outside of education.


Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.



Sage Premier
Sage is publisher that focuses on the social science disciplines including education. This is not a regular database but peer-reviewed journals published by Sage in the social sciences can be searched. Journals articlesavailable in the full text.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (1975+ )
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Indexes more than 8,200 journals (7,1000 are peer-reviewed) and directly supplies full-text articles for nearly 4,500 journals (including 3,700 peer-reviewed).
This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.


Subject Guide

Bee Gallegos
Specialties: Children's & Young Adult Literature, Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations