Login to LibApps

EXW 342: Health Behavior Change: Home

Resources for research related to examining major theories of health behavioral change, and for developing intervention strategies and techniques employed to facilitate health behavioral change.

EXW 342 Course Guide Contents

This guide includes resources and information for KIN 494:

Getting Started

Hello and Welcome to the EXW 342 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

Get Set Up for Research Success!  Learn about Your 3 Library Accounts!

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!  

Contact info for your Health Sciences Librarians: Virginia Pannabecker and Kevin Pardon on the Right-hand side of this guide.  

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.

 

a

3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

Your ASU Libraries

ASU Libraries - A one-minute introduction to ASU Libraries from the ASU Libraries' Library Minute series.  Published on the ASU Libraries YouTube Channel, watch this 1 minute video and others including topics like how to borrow books and using interlibrary loan to get articles & more that we don't have at ASU.

About ASU Libraries - Maps and ToursScroll down this page and click on the 'Virtual Tour' links to find out more about a particular location within ASU Libraries

Research Databases tutorial (4:23) - What are research databases and why should you use them?  What advantages do they have over general web search engines like Google?

More ASU Libraries Tutorials Online - Use these short (1 to 5 minute) online tutorials from the Resources for ASU Online Students Library Guide to find out more about things like Evaluating Sources, Using Connectors When Searching, Keyword Searching, Using Get it @ ASU to get Full Text of articles, Interlibrary Loan, and more!

General and Consumer Health Information

Reference Resource

Credo Reference Online  - | Credo provides full-text online access to hundreds of reference books in all major subjects, from almost every major discipline. Also includes dictionaries for major European languages and biographical reference resources.  *Offers additional links to search the same topic directly in a variety of research databases.

Websites with General and/or Consumer Health Information

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)  - AHRQ is committed to improving care safety and quality by developing successful partnerships and generating the knowledge and tools required for long-term improvement. The central goal of our research is measurable improvements in health care in America, gauged in terms of improved quality of life and patient outcomes, lives saved, and value gained for what we spend.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention - CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.

Medline Plus - from the National Institute of Health (NIH), Medline Plus is the premier open access consumer health information web site, with overviews on health topics and conditions, drug and supplement information, videos, and more.  

NIH - National Institutes of HealthThe National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

PubMed Health - from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.  

World Health Organization - Directing and coordinating authority fo health within the United Nations system. Responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations