Login to LibApps

FAS 435/SOC 435: Advanced Marriage and Family Relationships: Home

How To Get Help

For More Information

More resources and additional information can be found in these library research guides:

Family and Human Development

Psychology

Tests and Measures

 

Article Databases

Which database should you use to find research articles on your topic? These are good places to start.

PsycInfo: Covers all areas of psychology and related fields and is a primary database for family studies and human development. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: social anxiety AND treatment effectiveness. After you do a search there are limits that you can apply if appropriate for things like methodology, population, age group, and more.

Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive and there are no summaries or abstracts. Use the Advanced Search option for best results. Get to the advanced search screen by clicking on the down arrow at the end of the search box. Use the "get it @ ASU" links to get to the article itself. Use this link to Google Scholar or the link on the library home page to ensure that the ASU Libraries' fulltext journal content is linked from Google Scholar. For more information on Google Scholar including searching tips and examples, click on the tab at the top of this page or click here: Google Scholar Search Tips.

 

Some students also find these additional databases to be helpful:

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

SocIndex with Fulltext : SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts: Covers core journal literature in sociology, including the sociology of the family.

Social Services Abstracts: more social work than sociology or family studies, but the two areas sometimes overlap

Google Scholar

Your Librarian

JoAnn Mulvihill
Contact:
Need help? Call me at 480-965-3081 or send me an email. My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1N.

Subjects: Psychology, Sociology, Family and Human Development, Counseling and Counseling Psychology
My Profile and Guides
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations