This is the "GLG 103 : Introduction to Geology Lab - (Online) Module 13, Hometown Geology" page of the "GLG 103 : Introduction to Geology Lab (Online), Module 13, Hometown Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GLG 103 : Introduction to Geology Lab (Online), Module 13, Hometown Geology   Tags: geology, glg 103, glg103, hometown, module, module 13, online  

This guide is to help online Geology 103 lab (GLG 103) students identify the topographic and geology maps they will need for their mandatory Hometown Geology lab assignment that takes place in the ASU Libraries Map Collection.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/GLG103_Module13 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
GLG 103 : Introduction to Geology Lab - (Online) Module 13, Hometown Geology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ASU Map Collection

Map Collection
3rd floor Noble Library
(480) 965-5183
Send Email

 

GLG 103 Module 13 Hometown Geology Lab Assignment Overview

The purpose of this library guide is to assist students taking the online course, Geology (GLG) 103, with their research for the module 13 assignment.  The “Hometown Geology” module is an 80 points mandatory assignment which cannot be dropped from your grade. 

For the Module 13 assignment, GLG 103 lab students need to find a topographic and a geologic map of their hometown or an area of interest before arriving at the ASU Libraries Map Collection for their assignment.  Instructions for finding U.S. topographic maps and U.S. geologic maps can be found in the boxes below. 

International students need only to find geologic maps of their home countries.  When searching for a geologic map of your home country, try searching your country's name in both the native language(s) and English.  Although the ASU Libraries Map Collection tries to collect high quality geological and topographic maps of areas outside the U.S., we may not have them available for everywhere in the world. During this exercise, if you do not find a quality geologic map for your country, you may want to select a place of interest within the U.S.

 

Online Topographic and Geologic Maps

For students outside of the Phoenix Metropolitan Area who cannot go to the ASU Libraries Map Collection, try this online resources for your map needs:

Topographic Maps

USGS Map Locator and Downloader Free downloads of topographic maps are available from the U.S. Geological Survey.  Search for the needed  location in the map search box in the center of the page.  The search box in the left-hand column will send you to the Map Store.

Libre Map Project has topographic maps available.  Click on the "Data" link, type in your place [feature] of interest, and select feature type. When search for a city or town, select Populated Place as the feature type.

Google Earth has topographic map overlays of the most recent topographic maps for Arizona.  Using Google Earth as an advantage in that one can see the topographic maps placed on the "surface" of the Earth. After downloading Google Earth, download this topographic map file.

ArcGIS Explorer has topgraphic map layers.  Download Arc GIS explorer then press basemap button to change the basemap to topographic

Geologic Maps

National Geologic Map Database. The USGS (United States Geologic Survey) also hosts many of their geologic maps online.  This database also lists maps done in partnership with state geological surveys.  Enter your hometown, select your state, select your county.  From the results, select your hometown "Type" 0as a "Populated Place."  Check only "Bedrock Geology" as the Geologic Theme.  Under Product Format, select digital.  Go through the list of maps and pick a map using the same selection criteria as described on the Indentifying a Geologic Map video in the box above.

Most states have geologic surveys.  Many states host some of their geologic map online.  To search for your states geologic survey, simply search for the name of your state and add the words, geologic survey.  For example, if you are from Missouri, search for Missouri Geologic Survey to find online geologic maps.

 

State Geological Surveys.  It is recommended that students should check the National Geologic Map Database before directly searching their state geological survey.

Arizona

Arizona Geological Survey Document Repository - First, use the search box to search for your area of interest. Then, in the Guide Search box (below the search box) click on Geology to narrow the search.

Arkansas

Geologic Map of Arkansas.  

Click on one of the locations: Little Rock, Ouachita Mountain Region, Other Areas (avoid anything under "reconnaissance" or "worksheet")

California

Click on one of the locations: Chico, Lake Tahoe, Monterey, Oceanside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco-San Jose, Santa Rosa, Weed

Connecticut

Bedrock Geological Map of Connecticut

Florida

Geologic Map of the State of Florida   

Georgia

Geologic Map of Georgia.  

Idaho

Click on one of the locations: Boise

Illinois

Bedrock Geologic Map of Illinois

Indiana

Interactive Geologic Map of Indiana (click on areas of the map to get bedrock information).

Iowa

Bedrock Geologic Map of Iowa (map and legend).  

Maine

Bedrock Geologic Map of Maine.

Click on one of the locations: Augusta, Portland, other areas available.

Maryland

Click on one of the locations: Hagerstown, Mason and Dixon (west of Hagerstown), Harford County, Garrett County, Western Maryland

Massachusetts

Some 7.5' geologic maps are available from the Massachusetts Geological Survey.  These maps are the same scale as 7.5' topographic maps.

Minnesota

Select a location:  East CentralHibbing, International FallsNew Ulm, RoseauSt.Paul, Two Harbors

Montana

Click on one of the locations: Missoula East (map & report), Missoula West (map & report), Billings, other areas.

Nevada

Click on one of the locations: Buckskin MountainCamp Douglas, Carson City (map and text), HendersonMoho Mountain, RenoSchurz, State Line Peak

New York

Click on one of the locations: Adirondack sheetFinger Lakes sheet, Hudson Mohawk sheet, Lower Hudson, Niagara sheet Click on the Master Legend sheet for further rock description

North Carolina

The Division of Energy, Mineral and Land Resources has a list of geologic maps. Select a location and click on pdf to view map. 

Ohio

Bedrock Geologic Map of Ohio


Oregon

Click on one of the locations: Portland, Lake Oswego, Salem.  Other areas are available at the Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (Do not use earthquake hazard maps).


Pennsylvania

Download the Geologic Map of Pennsylvania or the Greater Pittsburgh Region Geologic Map (Plate 1 is the map, Plates 2-6 are cross sections).

Texas

Contact Map Collection.

Utah

Utah State Geological Survey has Geologic maps on the web or click on one of the links below to go to indexes of maps available.

Click on one of the locations: State Map, Salt Lake City, 1:24000 maps, 1:100000, 1:250000, National and State Parks  


Virginia

Click on one of the locations:  Richmond, Roanoke   

Wisconsin

Bedrock Geology of Wisconsin

Wyoming

Geologic Map of Wyoming (map, legend & sources)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip