Login to LibApps

HCR 571: Cultural Diversity in Clinical Practice: Home

This guide will help students with research on culture-bound syndromes and finding an assessment tool to evaluate for cultural bias.

Instructional Objectives

Students will know how to:

  1. Find the catalog record for the DSM-V in ASU Libraries Online Catalog
  2. Find an assessment tool using HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)
  3. Know some tips for searching CINAHL, PubMed, and PsychInfo

DSM-V

Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

 

How to Use this Course Guide

Welcome to the HCR 571 Course Guide.  The resources and services highlighted here are selected with your course content in mind.  

This guide includes:

  • Left side column:
    • Direct link to the ASU Libraries Catalog record for the DSM-V - If you're on an ASU Libraries campus, use the Catalog Record Link to get the call number and locations.  *If you are a distance student (outside the Phoenix metro area), contact your Health Sciences Librarian (contact info on right column of this guide) to find out about options for access.
  • Middle column:

Questions?  Would you like further assistance by email or phone, or to set up a one on one consultation?  Contact a Health Sciences Librarian! Your Health Sciences Librarians are: Virginia Pannabecker / (602) 496-0683 / virginia.pannabecker@asu.edu and Kevin Pardon / (602) 496-0487 / kevin.pardon@asu.edu.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature indexes nursing/allied health journals and most publications of the American Nurses'Association & National League for Nursing.  

PubMed

An Abstract/Citation Databases, PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE...PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central.

PsycINFO

Indexes literature in psychology & related disciples (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Indentifies measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, & library/information science. Provides source, abstract, reviewer, & info. on measurement instruments (questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, etc).

Tests and Measures Library Guide

Additional information about locating Tests, Measures, Assessments, and Scales at the Tests and Measure Library Guide by JoAnn Mulvihill

http://libguides.asu.edu/tests 

**Have you found an assessment tool that you would like to evaluate, but having trouble locating a copy?  Contact one of your Health Sciences Librarians at the Downtown campus (right-hand column of this guide) for help.

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations