HEB 348: Israeli Society and Culture
ASU Library Catalog Tutorial
Sample Our Book Collection...
Falafel Nation by ISBN: 9780803290174Publication date: 2015When people discuss food in Israel, their debates ask politically charged questions: Who has the right to falafel? Whose hummus is better? But Yael Raviv's Falafel Nation moves beyond the simply territorial to divulge the role food plays in the Jewish nation. She ponders the power struggles, moral dilemmas, and religious and ideological affiliations of the different ethnic groups that make up the Jewish State; and how they relate to the gastronomy of the region.
Zionism and the Creation of a New Society by ISBN: 0195092090Publication date: 1998Israel is a modern state whose institutions were clearly shaped by an ideological movement. The declaration of independence in 1948 was an immediate expression of the fundamental Zionist idea: it gave effect to a plan advocated by organized Zionists since the 1880s for solving the Jewish Problem. Thus, major Israeli political institutions, such as the party structure, embody principles and practices that were followed in the World Zionist Organization.
The Sabra by ISBN: 0520216423Publication date: 2000The Sabras were the first Israelis--the first generation, born in the 1930s and 1940s, to grow up in the Zionist settlement in Palestine. Socialized and educated in the ethos of the Zionist labor movement and the communal ideals of the kibbutz and moshav, they turned the dream of their pioneer forebears into the reality of the new State of Israel. While the Sabras made up a small minority of the new society's population, their cultural influence was enormous. Their ideals, their love of the land, their recreational culture of bonfires and singalongs, their adoption of Arab accessories, their slang and gruff, straightforward manner, together with a reserved, almost puritanical attitude toward individual relationships, came to signify the cultural fulfillment of the utopian ideal of a new Jew.
The Invention and Decline of Israeliness by ISBN: 0520229681Publication date: 2001This thought-provoking book, the first of its kind in the English language, reexamines the fifty-year-old nation of Israel in terms of its origins as a haven for a persecuted people and its evolution into a multi- cultural society. Arguing that the mono-cultural regime built during the 1950s is over, Baruch Kimmerling suggests that the Israeli state has divided into seven major cultures.
Israeliana Collections at ASU Library
Israel - History / Palestine - History
Israel -- Social conditions / Palestine -- Social conditions; National Characteristics - Israeli; Israel -- Social life and customs.
Public Opinion - Israel; Collective memory - Israel; Historiography - Israel;
Israel - Politics and Government / Palestine - Politics and Government
Israel - Popular Culture Israel Music; Art - Israel; Motion pictures -- Israel;
Arab-Israeli Conflict; Jewish-Arab Relations; Palestinian Arabs -- Israel -- Social Conditions;
The IsraPulp Collection is ASU's special collection of Hebrew popular literature titles, 1930s–current. It includes comic books, pulps in a number of genres (westerns, espionage and special agents, detective literature), and children's books.
Dissertations / Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and provides strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
ASU Dissertations and Theses: The ASU Library holds at least one copy or version for most of the dissertations and theses written by ASU graduates. The term "dissertation" refers to the document produced at the doctoral level, while "thesis" refers to documents produced at the Masters and Undergraduate Honors levels. Some Masters programs do not produce a thesis; documents from non-thesis programs such as applied, capstone, or research projects, are not collected by the ASU Library but might be in the ASU Digital Repository*. The availability or format (print/online) of a dissertation/thesis will vary according to the level (doctoral, masters, honors) and the year it was produced.
Israeli Dissertations and Theses (mostly in Hebrew)
Union List of Israel: Go to "additional catalogs" for dissertations and theses.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
