Login to LibApps

HSC 210 - Cultural Aspects of Health: Journal Articles: Research Databases

Library resources for HSC210 : Cultural influences for health, healthcare practices, barriers to health care, interactions with healthcare professionals, and health disparities in the U.S. Cultural competence among health practitioners.

Research Databases - for finding Journal Articles on a Topic

Research databases let you search for scholarly and professional journal articles on a topic by typing in keywords.

Use the research databases linked below to get to each database's record on the ASU Library site. Then, click on the blue 'Connect' button, or on the database title to get into the database and search.

 

Keyword search examples for HSC topics:

"food insecurity"

health AND illness AND Chinese

health AND Chinese

health AND body builders

illness AND body builders

  • Searching Tip: Adding "" around a phrase will make sure you get results that use those 2 words next to each other, rather than results that just have both those words, even if not related.
  • PubMed Tip: If you use the PubMed research database, after you search for your topic, look on the right-hand side of the page for a link saying 'New Feature,' 'Sort by Relevance' - click on 'Sort by Relevance' and the results linking to articles with your keywords in the title or mentioned many times will show up at the top.
  • CINAHL Tip: To search for keywords in CINAHL (instead of 'subject terms'), before you press the 'search' button, *un-check* the box next to 'Suggest subject terms' - right above the search boxes.
  • Full Text Tip: Use the 'Get It! @ASU' button from research databases to find a 'Get Article' link to a PDF or HTML file that will let you read the whole article, not just the abstract summary.

 

Research Databases for HSC 210 Projects

  • Use the Get It!@ASU  tool for full-text access options via research databases.  

Academic Search Premier - This research database is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.  

PubMed Open Access! About the resource | Open Access Resarch Database!  Search for a topic to retrieve journal citations and abstracts  covering biomedicine and health, broadly defined to encompass those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. MEDLINE also covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000.

CINAHL - About the resource  | Search a topic and retrieve journal citations covering nursing and allied heatlh journal literature  | Useful allied health areas include Athletic Training, Nutrition and Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, and Physical Therapy and Rehabiliation. (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Google Scholar: enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. *Always access Google Scholar via ASU Library for links to full-text from ASU Library subscription resources.

More ASU Libraries Research Databases - browse by research database title through A-Z list or look by topic area

PubMed Searching Tutorials


CINAHL Searching Tutorials



Ask a Librarian

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon's picture
Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Hours and Locations