At the end of this library session, students will know about:
1) ASU Libraries resources and services & 3 Library Accounts
2) Research Databases to find scholarly articles for your assignments
3) Searching strategies and methods to refine searches and save search results
4) Where to get examples and information on APA in-text citations and Reference List guidelines
5) Where to find more information on RefWorks.
6) 1 way to get help 24/7: Ask-a-Librarian
Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu
Try creating an APA citation for the following article:
The Affordable Care Act's plan for consumer assistance with insurance moves states forward but remains a work in progress.
and for the following Book Chapter available in this book:
Book chapter title: The individualisation of health: Health surveillance, lifestyle control and public health
Book title: Shaping health policy: Case study methods and analysis.
Hello and Welcome to the HSC 330 Course Guide! Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs. Have suggestions for this guide? Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.
If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!
Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.
Health Sciences Librarian: Kevin Pardon / 602-496-0487 / email@example.com
Academic Search Premier: This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.
Web of Science: Provides access to information about publications in approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.
CQ Library - including CQ Researcher: CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is a reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.
Health, Psychology, Education
PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Open access searching interface for 'Medline.' Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
ERIC (via CSA Ilumina): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.
Proquest (LexisNexis) Congressional: U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Proquest Legislative Insight: Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.
Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.
Arizona State and Local Government Information - by Dan Stanton, Government Information Librarian at ASU Libraries. This is a guide to Arizona government information at the state, regional, county, and local levels.
Health at ASU Research Guide - Resources & Tools for: Behavioral Health, Biomedical Informatics, Evidence Based Practice, Exercise & Wellness, Global Health, Health Care Delivery, Healthcare, Health Innovation, Health Professional, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services.
NIH - National Institutes of Health: The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services , is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Thomas: Website for bill tracking and other information, at the Library of Congress
From Dan Stanton, Government Information Librarian's Library Guide page on the Library of Congress
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
While these reports are timely and thorough, they are not officially part of the legislative process and therefore are not distributed through the Federal Depository Library system. Generally available on request from your members of Congress, many organizations realize the value of these reports and seek to collect them and make them publicly available.
The Basics of APA Style - online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website
Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab - APA Style resources (online and where to find the handbook in print at each ASU Libraries location)
Legislation Citation Example (p220 in APA Style Manual)*
Mental Health Systems Act (1988)
or Mental Health Systems Act of 1988
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (2010)
or Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010
Bill that has not yet become law
Mobile Medical Homeless Health Improvement Act (2013)
Mobile Medical Homeless Health Improvement Act of 2013
Bill that has become law.
Mental Health Systems Act, 42 U.S.C. section symbol 9401 (1988). Retrieved from http://congressional.proquest.com/legisinsight?id=PL96-398&type=LEG_HIST
Bill that has become law.
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, 42 U.S.C. § 18001 (2010). Retrieved from http://congressional.proquest.com/legisinsight?id=PL111-148&type=LEG_HIST
Bill that has not yet become law
Mobile Medical Homeless Health Improvement Act of 2013, 2013 Bill Tracking H.R. 29; 113 Bill Tracking H.R. 29 (2013). Retrieved from HTTP://congressional.proquest.com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/congressional/docview/t03.d04.113_hr_29?accountid=4485
*APA states that it's preferable (when possible) to cite the codified statute from the U.S.C. (United States Code) - APA Manual page 220. So it might be good to have an example of that format too.
I find this site helpful to find the USC info for a particular law: http://uscode.house.gov/popularnames/popularnames.htm