Login to LibApps

HSC 420: Evaluation of Health Sciences Research: Home

Investigates methods of inquiry in health sciences and techniques for critiquing and interpreting research within the context of evidence-based practice.

Learning Objectives

At the end of this library session, students will know about:

1) ASU Libraries resources and services & 3 Library Accounts

2) Major Evidence Based Medicine resources accessible through ASU Libraries

2) 4 searching strategies and methods to refine and save searches

5) RefWorks and Write-n-Cite.

6) 1 way to get help 24/7: Ask-a-Librarian 

Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

  • My Library Account
    • Manage checked out items, requests, & more!
  • My Illiad Account
    • InterLibrary Loan & Document Delivery: PDFs of journal articles & book chapters; access to materials not available at ASU
    • More Info
  • My RefWorks Account:

APA Citation Style Resources

The Basics of APA Style - online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website

Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab - APA Style resources (online and where to find the handbook in print at each ASU Libraries location)

Final Assignment tip!

Tip: Finding a Qualitative Study

1. In a research database (such as Academic Search Premier or PubMed)

Search: qualitative study and ___________  (fill in the blank with your topic)

For example: qualitative study and hospitals

2. It may be helpful to use the advanced search to search both keywords in the 'Title' of articles

3. When you find an article of interest, look at the Methods or Design section of the abstract or within the full text of the article.  This section should identify the research method/s used, including stating whether or not the study whose results are reported in the article was a qualitative study.

*A Qualitative Study is conducted using research methods that investigate human behavior in certain contexts, including individuals' understanding of and reasoning for such behavior.  Such studies may collect and analyze information from focus groups, interviews, questionnaires, or observations.

Getting Started

Hello and Welcome to the HSC 420 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.




Health Sciences LibrarianVirginia Pannabecker / 602-496-0683 / virginia.pannabecker@asu.edu

Databases of Synthesized Evidence

PubMed Clinical Queries - From PubMed, click on 'Clinical Queries' under 'PubMed Tools'

This PubMed searching tool includes a Systematic Reviews search, which can be used to easily find reviews, meta-analysis papers, and clinical trials.

Cochrane Library

Database of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare.  Includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Controlled Trials Register, and Review Methodology.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse

The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailied information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Research Databases

PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.'  Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.

PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

ERIC (via CSA Ilumina): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Web of Science

Clinical Trials

Clinical Trials may be found in other resources as well, such as Cochrane or TRIP


Contains approximately 11,300 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry on a wide range of diseases and conditions.

Federated Search Engines

TRIP Database

Created in 1997 to bring together all the 'evidence-based' healthcare resources available on the Internet - includes systematic reviews, clinical trials, guidelines, e-texts, more; links to PubMed documents and to Guidelines sources such as the U.S. National Guidelines Clearinghouse

Online Journals - Evidence Based

Journal Title Search

Click the link above to search for a particular journal by title - use the e-journal search (top box) to find online journals

Example searches:

ACP Journal Club

Evidence-based Child Health

Evidence-based Nursing

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations