Login to LibApps

HST 300/HST495 Historical Inquiry: The Holocaust - Toth: HST300: Historical Inquiry - The Holocaust - Toth

Reference Resources

Some of the resources below are in print in the ASU Libraries while others are available electronically. Most books or encyclopedic entries contain a bibliography of additional sources that may help in your research.

The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust/ Israel Gutman, editor in chief.
New York : Macmillan, c1990.  D804.3 .E53 1990 v.1-4. Hayden Reference, West Reference     
A searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.Sample titles include: Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia Judaica, Encycopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.
The Holocaust encyclopedia [electronic resource] / Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor.
New Haven : Yale University Press, c2001. D804.25 .H66 2001 Online. ALSO Print D804.25 .H66 2001 Hayden Stacks, West Stacks    
Reference guide to Holocaust literature [electronic resource] / introduction by James Young ; editor, Thomas Riggs.
Detroit, Mich. : St. James Press, c2002  PN56 .H55 R43 2002 Online

Searching the Catalog

In searching the ASU Libraries Catalog for information on a topic most of us begin with a keyword search because we are not looking for a specific book or resource and we do not know the official Library of Congress Subjects.  In searching by keyword for information about the Holocaust begin with the word holocaust by itself or in combination with another word[s]. The Catalog automatically inserts the word 'and' between words so you can search using a word string like you do when searching Google: holocaust personal narratives.

To retrieve e-books only go to the advanced search screen, enter your keyword[s] or one of the subjects below and limit the results to online access under the category 'Location'. Close to 300 online titles are available through the Libraries on the Holocaust.

Below are several Library of Congress Subjects about the Holocaust that will retrieve sources directly related to that topic:

Antisemitism -- United States -- History -- 20th century -- Sources

Auschwitz (Poland : Concentration camp)

Brzezinka (Poland : Concentration camp)

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Sources

Jews -- Germany -- History -- 1933-1945 -- Sources

World War, 1939-1945 Jews

World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, Jewish



THe following are databases to use for finding journal articles:

 Historical Abstracts 
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

Humanities Full Text Includes full text
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Index to Jewish Periodicals  The Index is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. It provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.

JSTOR Includes full text
Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Allows date-limited searching.

Academic Search Premier Includes some full text
A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics.
: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Online Resources

The following web resources include personal narratives with links to additional web resources.  This is only a sample of some of the resources you may find on the web and are listed here because they were not on the Holocaust LibGuide:

This site serves as a gateway in internet resources on the Holocaust.  Part of a larger website on historical events and issues sponsored by the University of London.

Includes survivor stories, bibliographies, an encyclopedia, video & audio galleries and links to other resources.

Sponsored by the university of South Florida College of Education, this website is an overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature including links to primary sources in the "Documents" section

Includes survivor interviews and links to other resources

Digitized interviews with survivors from 1946; search by language, camps, interviewee name, date

Reserve Items

The following sets are on Reserve at Fletcher Library. Request them at the Information Desk.

Friedlander, Henry and Sybil Milton, eds., Archives of the Holocaust: An International Collection of Selected Documents.  D804.3 .A7 1989.  19v.

Mendelsohn, John ed., The Holocaust: Selected Documents in Eighteen Volumes.   D810 .J4 H655 

Wyman, David ed., America and the Holocaust: A Thirteen-Volume Set Documenting the Editor’s Book The Abandonment of the Jews.   D804.3 .A47 1989 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Bee Gallegos
Contact Info:
LIb 301c
602 543-8509
Send Email

Other LibGuides

These LibGuides developed by Rachel Leket-Mor, ASU Librarian for Religious Studies have a wealth of information about the Holocaust and Jewish Studies in general.  The resources highlighted in these guides include databases, print & online reference sources, and web sources including primary documents.

Has links to specialized collections & museums such as the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, digitized primary sources & specialized reference resources.

Provides informational sources on the broader area of Jewish history & studies including the Holocaust
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations