HST 495: Migration and the Making of Postwar Europe

International and Ethnic Newspaper Articles

Access World News (1977+): Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+): Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers:

• Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1929
• The Chicago Defender 1905-1975
• The Guardian / The Observer, 1791-2003
  
• Hartford Courant, 1764-1984
• Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985
• The New York Times, 1851-2003
• The Washington Post, 1877-1990

World Newspaper Archive

• African Newspapers: A collection on nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The Center for Research Libraries.
• Latin American Newspapers: The collection includes approximately 35 fully searchable historical Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. The Center for Research Libraries.
• South Asian Newspapers: A collection of nineteenth and twentieth-century South Asian newspapers, featuring titles from Madras Mail, one of the highest circulating English newspapers in southern India. The collection also includes Amrita Bazar Patrika, The Leader, Tribune, the Ceylon Observer.

General-Interest Newspapers and Magazines

Lexis-Nexis Academic: Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, & news transcripts. See LexisNexis Topic Guide.

Alt-PressWatch (1970+): Covers selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Opinions

• Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: A full-text database providing differing points of view from articles on current social issues.
• ProCon - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues: Offered by a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity; includes linked media excerpts. 

Historic Newspapers

• Chronicling America: Information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.  Offered by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) with partnership with the Library of Congress.
• Chronicling America - Arizona Newspapers: Almost 1,700 newspaper titles from Arizona. 
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada.