Login to LibApps

HST 495 - Latin America and the Cold War - Sarreal: Getting Started

Primary Sources

Primary Sources:
The definition of primary sources depends on the academic discipline and the context in which it is used. In the humanities, "Primary resources provide firsthand evidence of historical events. They are generally unpublished materials such as:
manuscripts  photographs
maps artifacts
audio and video recordings oral histories
postcards posters

In some instances, published materials can also be viewed as primary materials for the period in which they were written."

Credit: UCLA Institute on Primary Sources

Historians use primary sources as evidence. Additional examples of primary sources are diaries, personal journals, government records, court records, property records, military reports, and military rosters.

Secondary Sources:
In contrast, a secondary source is the typical history book which may discuss or analyze a person's life or work, an event or another historical topic. Secondary sources are accounts or interpretations of events by a person who doesn't have firsthand knowledge of the event. A good secondary source uses primary sources as evidence. 

Government Resources

Declassified Documents Reference System - Includes full text of declassified U.S. government documents. Covers nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, etc.

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. This database is also a useful resource for Security Studies.

PAIS International - Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

ProQuest Congressional - U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; CRS reports, Committee Prints; National Journal, Congress Daily, and member info. 1789 to present.

Many Federal documents in our collection, prior to 1976can not be searched through our Online Catalog.  It is possible to identify these documents using other resources, including:

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Database indexing government post 1976.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Print index to government information prior to 1976.

 

For more information about and links to U.S. Government resources consult this library guide: Federal Government Information.

Research Databases - Journal Articles & News Sources

Listed below are some relevant databases for locating journal articles & other resources:

 JSTOR
Full-text access to journals across the disciplines

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954-
Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes full-text articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970-
Provides citations to scholarly journals published across the world on Latin America & the Caribbean. Includes political, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities.

PAIS
Covers the world's public affairs, public & social policies, international relations and world politics published in journals, books and government documents, conference papers, grey literature, research reports and more.

Latin American Newsletter 1967-
An online collection of current news sources in English comprised of local news digests from Latin America and the Caribbean, regional reports, personal briefings, special bulletins, research analyses, 5-year forecasts, and more.

Latin American Network Information Center

Interdisciplinary news resources by country

Access World News 1977-

Indexes local, regional, national & international newspapers. Searches can be limited to South America or countries within South America with papers in Spanish.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals.

Humanities Full Text  1984-
Full text articles published in variety of subjects in the humanities including history

Academic Search Premier  1975-

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Covers a wide range of academic subjects

Google Scholar 
Contains scholarly article, books, book chapters, papers etc that can be searched similar to the way Google is searched.

Searching for Books & Media

ASU Libraries Catalog Search

Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:

 

 

E-books can be found in a catalog search but Library One Search is the most comprehensive source for e-books owns.

Library One Search - Try It!

Librarian

Bee Gallegos
Specialties: Children's & Young Adult Literature, Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations