Login to LibApps

Islamic Studies: Home

About This Guide

To Find Use
Read background information to get started with your research: articles from encyclopedias, lexicons, biographies, etc.  Background Research
Historical and current newspaper articles News Articles
Peer-reviewed articles from databases, book reviews Journal Articles
Books and eBooks from ASU collections and other libraries Books / eBooks
Dissertations and theses, DVDs, CDs: Catalog searches Books / eBooks
Mixed format materials (photos, videos, streaming video, music files)

Research Databases

Arabic and other languages related to Islamic civilizations Languages
Primary source materials for your research, Islamic manuscripts Primary Sources and Manuscripts
Research materials from the Middle East and Southeast Asia World Islam


We offer a variety of delivery options to get you the materials you need, fast and at no cost to you! 

Trial Database

Oxford Dictionaries: This is a fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries online resource. The different languages included are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. In addition to dictionaries, it includes topics such as life & culture, grammar & vocabulary, and writing & word games. There is also a teaching & learning resource for each language. TRIAL ENDS on October 6, 2016.

Oxford Reference Library, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women: This is a bit tricky since this huge database includes hundreds of encyclopedias and other books, and the search is set to find articles (“entries”) instead of books. Once in the database, go to the search box and type in “Islam women”, then switch the view (two tabs, one grey and one white) from Entries to Books. Once you do that, the first entry is The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women. TRIAL ENDS on October 12, 2016.

Library News


Subject Librarian

Rachel Leket-Mor

Liaison with Religious Studies, Philosophy, Center for Jewish Studies, Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Profile and Guides

Hayden Library
C27B, Upper Concourse
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations