Login to LibApps

KIN 101: Introduction to Kinesiology: In-Class Library Session

Learning Objectives

During this library session, students will:

  1. Find the full-text of a journal article from a citation
  2. Access PubMed, an open access Research Database frequently used for Kinesiology research
    • Use keyword searching strategies
    • Select an article on a topic of interest and find the full text
  3. Have a chance to ask questions about library research and services available

In-Class Library Session Handout

Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Library home page, http://lib.asu.edu

The Basics of APA Style

The Basics of APA Style (online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website)

Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab (APA Style handbook and information)

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Formatting and Style Guide

Getting Started

Hello and Welcome to the KIN 101 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live chat.

 

 

Finding a Known Citation

  1. One way to find full text of an article is to copy and paste the article title into the Library One Search box on the ASU Library home page and search many electronic journals and research databases at once
  2. You can also find links to a known citation by searching Google or Google Scholar on the library's homepage.
  3. Another way is to go to a research database in the field, like PubMed, and search for the article 'doi' or the article title.
  4. A fourth way to check is by looking under "Journals" or Journal Title Lookup and type in the journal title.

Finding Articles - Trying out a Health Research Database

Next up is the Finding Articles: Research Databases page on this guide.  Use the example research questions on the Finding Articles page to try out PubMed or another research database.  The Finding Articles page also includes video examples of searches in PubMed and CINAHL, and example searching strategies.

Links to Career Planning Resources

  1. Careers in Kinesiology - The American Kinesiology Association Career Center is the premier resource for students pursuing a career in Kinesiology and professionals seeking new opportunities in their area of expertise.
  2. O*NET Online  |   O*NET OnLine is created for the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration, by the National Center for O*NET Development.Welcome to your tool for career exploration and job analysis! O*NET Online has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
  3. Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
  4. Explore Health Care Careers
  5. Wages by area and location | Bureau of Labor Statistics

Graduate School Programs

  1. U.S. News & World Reports - Magazine - Graduate School Rankings
  2. PhDs.org - Find the Graduate School That's Right for You
    •  Kinesiology Programs: Rank by criteria that's important to you

Patient Page Resources/Examples (KIN 101 PROMOD Section)

Medline Plus - Search a topic in English or Spanish and retrieve the most authoritative consumer health information gathered from trusted sources. It's "one stop" shopping since your search retrieves/links to the best consumer health information from all the major health associations.

PubMed Health - PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers.

Mayo Clinic - Example patient pages on a variety of different topics.

Meet Your Librarian!

Kevin Pardon's picture
Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Your Librarian

Janice Hermer's picture
Janice Hermer
Contact:
411 N Central Ave, Downtown campus Library
602-496-0683

Hours and Locations