Refworks |Importing from databases
Below, find guides that will show you step-by-step screen shots on how to import or export references from various databases into your RefWorks account.
Logging Into RefWorks (1:26 min.)
Navigating Around RefWorks (2:02 min.)
Getting Your References into RefWorks (:12 sec.)
Direct Import from an Online Database Service (3:19 min.)
Importing Text Files (6:25 min.)
Searching Online Information Within RefWorks (2:31 min.)
Searching Your RefWorks Database (1:05 min.)
Organizing Your References (3:00 min.)
Building Your Bibliography (:51 sec.)
Using Write-N-Cite v.2 for Windows and Mac (5:53 min.)
Using One Line/Cite View (7:37 min.)
Quick Bibliography (3:44 min.)
Entering References Manually (6:49 min.)
Test Drive RefWorks (2:04 min.)
Using Write-N-Cite III for Windows (10:52 min.)
Creating a Custom Output Style List (4:25 min.)
RefWorks | Set up free account
Refworks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies that RefWorks quickly creates into any of your desired multiple citation styles. More information about RefWorks
- RefWorks Tutorials
- Setting Up RefWorks Account
- Export/Import from databases | IMPORTANT - for importing from PubMed's new interface to RefWorks see below, updated 11/09
- Importing Catalog Records
- Importing from Google Scholar
- Importing EndNote databases
- Downloading Write-n-Cite
for Windows | for Mac
- Setting Up Write-n-Cite for ASU
for Windows | for Mac
- Group Code
Importing Citations from PubMed's new interface to Refworks | Updated 11/09
1. Click in the box to the left of desired records unless you wish to import all citations then do not check any.
2. Select Medline from the Display Settings drop down menu.
3. Click Apply.
4. Use the browsers Edit and Select All to select all of the records.
5. Copy the records using Edit and Copy.
1. Login to your RefWorks database if you have not already done so.
2. Click on References and Import at the top of the screen.
3. Select NLM PubMed from the Import Filter/Data Source drop down menu.
4. Select PubMed from the Database drop-down menu.
5. Click in the radio button next to Import Data from the following Text.
6. Click in the text box, and click on Edit and Paste. Your records will appear in the text box.
7. Click on Import.
8. Your citation(s) will automatically be imported into the Last Imported Folder.
You may view the records or move them to the folder of your choice.
Write-N-Cite Tutorials & Guides
What is Write-N-Cite?
Write-N-Cite is a utility that allows you to cite your sources from within a Microsoft word document. It will format both the in-text citations, and the reference list/bibliography automatically in your desired multiple citations styles.
Download Write-N-Cite | Mac, Windows, RefMobile
Using Write-N-Cite | Instructions in text format | Scroll down for Jing Tutorial
Write-N-Cite is a RefWorks utility that allows users to cite sources from within a Microsoft Word document. It will automatically format both the in-text citations and reference list/bibliography.
Follow the instructions to download Write-N-Cite for use off campus.
Note: You do not need a group code. Instead, paste a link into RefWorks' WNC Proxy Configuration Utility in the Start menu under Refworks.
The "Write -N-Cite" sign will appear on all Word 2003 and earlier documents in the top right hand corner. In Word 2007, it appears in the add-ins menu. It also appears as a shortcut on your desktop.
Citing References: Steps
- From Microsoft Word click on Write-N-Cite in the right top corner of the Word document or on your desktop to launch Write-N- Cite.
- Log-in using the same login and password as for RefWorks.
- Select the proper folder from View →Folder.
- In your paper click where you want to insert the citation.
- Switch to Write-N-Cite and click the Cite link adjacent to the correct reference. (Note: Write-N-Cite automatically
inserts double curly brackets as well as the Ref ID, Author Last Name, and Year. This is a placeholder.)
- To cite a second reference in the same location, click the Cite link for the second reference. The reference information is automatically inserted in the same set of curly brackets.
Note: The in-text references are not the final product—they are coded. The final document will be formatted when you create a bibliography.
Creating a Reference List/Bibliography
- Click Bibliography to generate the formatted paper. (Recommendation: Don't create your bibliography until your paper is completely done!)
- Select the Output Style and select Create Bibliography
Note: Write-N-Cite will create a bibliography and in-text citations from the records that you cited.
ASU Libraries offer Write-N-Cite sessions (Advanced RefWorks). Click here for the schedule.