Login to LibApps

KIN 494: Motivational Theory in Exercise & Health: Home

Also for KIN 450: Biopsychosocial Perspectives on Physical Activity and Health - Uses a biopsychosocial perspective to examine the interrelationships on physical activity and health (physical and mental).

KIN 494 Course Guide Contents

This guide includes resources and information for KIN 494:

Basics of APA Style

The Basics of APA Style (online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website)

Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab (APA Style handbook and information)

RefWorks and Write'n'Cite

RefWorks How To Library Guide 

The RefWorks How To Library Guide includes links to Tutorials on using RefWorks and Write-n-Cite, instructions to download Write-n-Cite, and the incredibly useful 'Importing from Databases' tab with instructions on how to import references from many databases available through ASU Libraries, including PubMed, CINAHL, Cochrane, and more.

Getting Started

Hello and Welcome to the KIN 494 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

Get Set Up for Research Success!  Learn about Your 3 Library Accounts!

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!  

Contact info for your Health Sciences Librarians: Virginia Pannabecker and Kevin Pardon on the Right-hand side of this guide.  

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.



Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

Your ASU Libraries

About ASU Libraries - Maps and ToursScroll down this page and click on the 'Virtual Tour' links to find out more about a particular location within ASU Libraries

Research Databases tutorial (4:23) - What are research databases and why should you use them?  What advantages do they have over general web search engines like Google?

More ASU Libraries Tutorials Online - Use these short (1 to 5 minute) online tutorials from the Resources for ASU Online Students Library Guide to find out more about things like Evaluating Sources, Using Connectors When Searching, Keyword Searching, Using Get it @ ASU to get Full Text of articles, Interlibrary Loan, and more!

General and Consumer Health Information

Medline Plus - from the National Institute of Health (NIH), Medline Plus is the premier open access consumer health information web site, with overviews on health topics and conditions, drug and supplement information, videos, and more.  

PubMed Health - from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.  

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)  - AHRQ is committed to improving care safety and quality by developing successful partnerships and generating the knowledge and tools required for long-term improvement. The central goal of our research is measurable improvements in health care in America, gauged in terms of improved quality of life and patient outcomes, lives saved, and value gained for what we spend.

Find Images, Videos, and more with permission to re-use!

'Free to use/adapt' images, videos, and more with Creative Commons licenses specifically giving permission for free re-use for educational or other purposes

Creative Commons Search

Use the Creative Commons Search and type a keyword in the search box to find photos and images via Flickr, Google Images, and other sources, that have a Creative Commons license for re-use, adaptation, or other purposes

**you still (always) need to cite your source if you use these in your presentation, to give attribution (credit) to the photo/image creator


How to cite an online image in APA style:

General Format

If Author is given:

Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

If no Author:

Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

Flickr photo example*:

Deal, P. (Photographer). (2011). Nurse [digital photograph], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/armymedicine/5710329658 

*In this example of a Flickr photo citation, the photographer's name is given in the caption - if it were not given, I would use the name of the person/group who posted the photo as the author if they took the photo, but if there is any question, use the example for the general 'No Author' format above.

Open Clip Art image example:

bedpanner. (Artist). (2012). Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Open Clip Art image example - done as though no author given (since the official name of the artist is not given):

Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image]. (2012). Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations