This is the "Home" page of the "LSC 362 - The Human Environment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LSC 362 - The Human Environment  

This is a guide to library resources for students in LSC 362 - The Human Environment
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/LSC362 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library One Search - Narrow w/ Text

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Library One Search - Try It!
 

Learning Outcomes

Answer common questions about human environmental impacts using Library One Search.

Know criteria for evaluating articles.

Know criteria for evaluating web pages.

Find primary scientific journal articles that address a claim made on a website.

Answer common questions about human environmental impacts using science databases.

Answer common questions about human environmental impacts using credible web pages (e.g.EPA).

 

Ask A Librarian

Chat: 24/7
Telephone: Varies according to each library's staffing
E-Mail: Questions are generally answered within 24 hours

 

Climate Change and Global Warming

Volume 9, Number 2, 99-102, DOI: 10.1007/s11157-010-9206-7
Lists important resources related to climate change and global warming.


 

Evaluate Web Pages Using Scott Rosenberg's Criteria

1. First ask these questions about the web site? 

  • Is it real?
  • Is it true?
  • Is it personal?

2. Check web page using tips from Scott Rosenberg's September 24, 2010 post in Wordyard about "How to check out any Web Page."

Here's a summary of the article (with links added by Leslee Shell):

  • What's the top-level domain?
  • Look the domain name up with whois or DNS Lookup
  • How old or new is the registration?
  • Look up the site in the Internet Archive
  • Look at the source code
  • Google the images at TinEye
  • Check out the ads
  • Does the site tell you who runs it?
  • Is there a feedback option?
  • What shape are the comments in?
  • Is the content original and unique?
  • Does the article make reference to many specific sources or just a few?
  • Links in are as important a clue as links out
  • Google the URL. Google the domain. Google the company name. Poke around if you have any doubts or questions. Then, of course, remember that every single question we've been applying here can be asked about every page Google points you to, as well.

3. Evaluate these science web sites based on at least three of the criteria above:

Site 1: Naturally Selected; Biology's Personal Best 
Site 2: Bjorn Lomborg
Site 3: Environmental Working Group
Site 4: US Environmental Protection Agency
Site 5: HAARP; The High Frequency Active Auroral Research Program

 

 

Evaluate Articles

Look at the following articles and evaluate using the following questions as a guide (Little J.W. and Parker, Roy, Retrieved from http://www.biochem.arizona.edu/classes/bioc568/papers.htm on September 16, 2010.

a. What questions does the paper address?

b. What are the main conclusions of the paper?

c. What evidence supports those conclusions?

d. Do the data actually support the conclusions?

e. What is the quality of the evidence?

f. Why are the conclusions important?

 

Article 1: Contoski, E.. (2008, September). Global Warming, Global MythLiberty, 22(8), 35-39,46.  Retrieved September 22, 2010, from Alt-Press Watch (APW). (Document ID: 1520463931).

Article 2: Guido di Prisco and Cinzia Verde. Predicting the impacts of climate change on the evolutionary adaptations of polar fish. 2006, Volume 5, Numbers 2-3, Pages 309-321

Article 3:Bjorn Lomborg. (2007, Octover 31). Hotter Weather, fewer deaths; man-made global warming will take thousands of lives.  It will save many more. National Post (Financial Post) Canada. Issues & Ideas, Pg. A23, 1146 words.

 

Environmental Sciences Databases

  • Databases in the Environmental Sciences
    View these 42 ASU Library databases on the Environmental Sciences to see which one fits your subject best.
  • Earth and Environmental Science
    A Springer Earth and Environmental Science subject collection covers a variety of earth and environmental science and policy areas from the earth’s outer atmosphere to its inner core and all the environmental factors relating to this dense discipline.
  • Earth Trends
    This collection is an online collection of information regarding the environmental, social and economic trends thatshape our world such as statistical, graphic, and analytical data.
  • Environment Complete
    Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
  • World Resources 2002-2004: Decisions for the Earth: Balance, Voice, and Power
    This resource focuses on the importance of good environmental governance by exploring how citizens, government managers, and business owners can foster better environmental decisions that meet the needs of people and ecosystems with equity and balance.

Meet your librarian.

Profile Image
Sheila Hofstetter
Contact Info
480-965-6588
Noble Science and Engineering Library
Science and Engineering Services
Reference Office next to elevators
Room 130H
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip