Login to LibApps

Learning about the Holocaust: Home

A Community Guide for Authoritative Free Resources

Library Catalogs

WorldCat: Use this catalog to search the collections of libraries in your community. Also available as a smartphone App.

  • Search many libraries at once and locate items in a library nearby: books, music CDs and videos. 
  • Find research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded: audiobooks, article citations with links to their full text 
  • Find authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of historic significance.
  • Create lists and bibliographies and share them.

Use your school or public library catalog to locate materials available for check out.
 

 

 

About This Guide

This guide includes free, authoritative materials for the study of the Holocaust. It is intended for community people who do not have access to databases and other resources at ASU Libraries. Please check with your school or public library for availability of materials recommended in this guide.

Those affiliated with ASU, please use the Holocaust Studies LibGuide.


Contents

Books/ E-Books: Search for books (print and Electronic) Book reviews, book recommendations, Library of Congress (LC) subject headings can help you search books and other materials by a specific subject. The suggested subject headings are linked to the WorldCat free catalog, but you may use them in other catalogs based on the LC system.

Reference: Search for encyclopedias and dictionaries. Some of them have extensive, updated information, suggested readings, and bibliographies.

Articles/ Bibliographies: Search for journal articles in relevant databases.

Primary Sources: Search for materials produced by victims, perpetrators, or witnesses. This page includes links to databases with a variety of materials: documents, reports, recorded interviews, photos, videos, and more.

Archives and Museums: Search for dedicated institutions that collect, preserve, and exhibit materials related to the Holocaust. The first two institutions (USHMM and Yad VaShem) have extensive collections with online access to some sections.

Web Resources: These portal websites are reliable, good places to look for information - they include links to many other resources.

Subject Guide

Rachel Leket-Mor

Liaison with Religious Studies, Philosophy, Center for Jewish Studies, Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Profile and Guides

Contact:
Hayden Library
C27B, Upper Concourse
480-965-2618
Website / Blog Page
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations