This is the "General Research Databases" page of the "Library Research Made Easy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Research Made Easy  

Some tips for doing effective library research
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/LibraryResearchMadeEasy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

General Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library One Search

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Library One Search - Try It!

Evaluating Resources Tutorial

 

Article Databases

These databases are the best places to start:


Academic Search Premier

This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has loads of full text. Depending on the topic, many students will get all they need from Academic Search Premier.

Finding Articles using Academic Search Premier/Ebscohost

View this brief tutorial on how to effectively search this database:


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

This database is especially useful if you are still deciding which topic to research. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword. The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is it provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. All of the essays are available full text.

It also provides other useful fulltext information about each issue such as relevant articles from encylopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.


 CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information current issues in the news. It is the most relaible place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.

This link takes you to the CQ Library, from there select CQ Researcher.


 LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis includes newspapers from around the world, including the New York Times (but not the Arizona Republic).


Arizona Republic

Search the Arizona Republic from 1999-present.


Google Scholar

Search specifically for scholarly literature using Google

     

    Need Help?

    Get help online from a reference librarian via email or IM.

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip