Login to LibApps

NTR 440: Advanced Human Nutrition I: Home

Metabolic reactions and interrelationships of vitamins, minerals, and water.

Nutrition Research Guide

Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

Basics of APA Citation Style

The Basics of APA Style (online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website)

Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab (APA Style handbook and information)

RefWorks

RefWorks How To Library Guide 

The RefWorks How To Library Guide includes links to Tutorial on using RefWorks and Write-n-Cite, instructions to download Write-n-Cite, and the incredibly useful 'Importing from Databases' tab with instructions on how to import references from many databases available through ASU Libraries, including PubMed, CINAHL, Cochrane, and more.

RefWorks and Write'n'Cite Instructions - PDF

This PDF document includes step by step instructions and screen shots on the 'quick' way to use Write-n-Cite for in-text citation and bibliography creation from a completed document.

RefWorks and Write'n'Cite - Tutorials and further info - PDF

This PDF document is a workshop handout.  It includes brief instructions on how to do many things in RefWorks and Write'n'Cite, with links to RefWorks tutorials.  It's an overview of many most used features.  **Want a workshop for a group within your class, or on your own?  Contact Virginia Pannabecker - Contact info on Right-hand side of this Course Guide.

How to Use this Course Guide

Hello and Welcome to the NTR 440 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting one of the Health Sciences Librarians, or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

Health Sciences Librarians contact info is on the right-hand side of this guide.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!

This Guide includes:

 

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.

 

Background Information

MedlinePlus includes the most autoritative consumer health information gathered from trusted sources.  It's 'one stop' shopping since your search retrieves/links to the best consumer health resources from all the major health associations, i.e. American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association.  Just like PubMed, MedlinePlus is developed and updated by the National Institutes of Health and the Medical Library Association.

Office of Dietary Supplements - Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets - Summary of current research on dietary supplements with bibliography of references at the end of each fact sheet **Click on the 'Health Professional' tab.

Helpful Databases for this Course

PubMed includes all of Medline plus general science, chemistry and databases for the biomedical researcher.

Web of Science is the best interdisciplinary science research database available via ASU Libraries.  Search a topic to retrieve citations for journal articles, conference proceedings, abstracts, and other documents.

A search in Cochrane Library may simplify your research if you are looking for a systematic review or a randomized controlled trial.  They are grouped together in this database and thus are easier to find. 

Other Databases to consider:

Food Institute Database is the best source for information related to the food industry whether it's recalls, company profiles, or harvest updates.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts covers every aspect of food science, food technology & food related human nutrition.  Indexes worldwide scientific journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, and legislation relating to food science and technology.

Physical Education Index includes journal citations on topics such as: biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patents pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physcial fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training

SPORTDiscus includes citations and abstracts covering all areas of sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education & training.  Full-text contains content from books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and journal and magazine articles.

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.

ERIC (via ProQuest) is the premier U.S. database of education literature.  Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.  Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

CINAHL is a great database for novice searchers though much of the content is geared toward the discipline of Nursing.  It includes the full text of many nursing articles, but also "relevant materials from biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, education, & consumer health."

Images/Photos with 'free to re-use' licensing for Presentations

'Free to use/adapt' - Images, photos, and more with Creative Commons licenses allowing for free use for educational purposes

Click the Creative Commons Search link below and type a keyword in the search box to find photos and images via Flickr, Google Images, and other sources, with filters for content that has a Creative Commons license for re-use, adaptation, or other purposes (you still need to cite your source though, if you use these in your presentation, to give attribution (credit) to the photo/image creator):

Creative Commons Search

 

How to cite an online image in APA style:

General Format

If Author is given:

Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

If no Author:

Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

Flickr photo example*:

Deal, P. (Photographer). (2011). Nurse [digital photograph], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/armymedicine/5710329658 

*In this example of a Flickr photo citation, the photographer's name is given in the caption - if it were not given, I would use the name of the person/group who posted the photo as the author if they took the photo, but if there is any question, use the example for the general 'No Author' format above.

Open Clip Art image example:

bedpanner. (Artist). (2012). Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Open Clip Art image example - done as though no author given (since the official name of the artist is not given):

Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image]. (2012). Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations