Login to LibApps

NTR 450: Nutrition in the Life Cycle I: Pre-Library Session Assignment

Emphasizes nutritional needs and problems during pregnancy, lactation, infancy, and childhood.


Hi!  My name is Virginia (Ginny) Pannabecker, and I'm one of two Health Sciences Librarians at the ASU Downtown Phoenix Campus Library.  You can see my photo on the right side of this page.  

This assignment should take you 30 minutes or less.  Completing this assignment and your library quiz in your NTR 450 Blackboard course site will prepare you for our hands-on library research session on January 27th.  

Follow the steps below to complete your assignment, then head to your blackboard course site for NTR 450 and complete the short quiz.

Step 1: Get to know your ASU Libraries

Step 2: ASU Libraries doesn't have it?  We can get it for you!

Step 3: Set up your ILLIAD Account to use the Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery service

Step 4: Get to know 2 research databases for Health Sciences research

Step 5: You try it!

Step 6: Last Step!

Comments and Suggestions

Thanks!  And, let me know if you have any kind of technical issues or other problems with materials on this page.  My contact info is on the right, or here:



Step 1: Get to know your ASU Libraries

ASU Libraries is here to support you in your research and studying success!

Watch this 1 minute 'Library Minute' video for an overview of ASU Libraries resources, services, and locations:



Look for:

  1. How can you get to the online library at ASU?
  2. Can you request materials to come to any location?
  3. What are 'Library Guides?'
  4. What service can connect you to research assistance anytime, 24/7?

Step 2: ASU Libraries doesn't have it? We can get it for you! (For free!)

Join Anali for a 'Library Minute' on the ASU Libraries Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service



Look for:

  1. How quickly will you usually receive a scanned PDF of an article that you request via Interlibrary Loan?

Step 3: Set up your Illiad Account to use the Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery service

1. Start at the ASU Libraries home page, lib.asu.edu

2. Click on 'My Accounts' on the gray information bar across the page and select 'My Illiad Account.'

3. On the ILLIAD Account page, click on the red text, 'First time users.'

4. Follow the steps to create your ILLIAD Account.

5. Problems creating your account?  Contact the Interlibrary Loan office at: (480) 965-3282 or via email: ill@asu.edu 

Step 4: Get to know 2 research databases for Health Sciences research

View the 2 videos below to see examples of keyword searching in 2 major Health Sciences research databases: PubMed and CINAHL.

In each video, Look for:

  1. How do you use keywords to search each database?
  2. How can you use synonyms to expand your first keyword search?
  3. How can you limit your search results using categories like: publication date, gender, or article type?
  4. How can you get to full text of an article showing in your search results?


PubMed Keyword searching via YouTube: http://youtu.be/GcOPnx0d0xY


CINAHL Keyword searching via YouTubehttp://youtu.be/Ad_Q5vYYg_4

Step 5: You try it!

Now that you've seen how to use 2 Health Sciences research databases, try it out:

1. Get to the PubMed research database via ASU Libraries

2. Search for the keywords:

               vegetarian diet AND vitamin d

3. How many results did you get for your search?

4. How many results do you have if you click on the '5 years' filtering option on the left side of your results page?

5. Set up your results list so that you can view the abstract (article summary) for each of your results:

  • Click 'Display Settings,' and select 'Abstract' and click on 'Apply'
  • Now you should see abstracts and just below them, you'll see the 'Get it @ ASU' button.

6. Click on the 'Get it @ ASU' button for one article, such as, "The effect of vegetarian diet on selected essential nutrients in children."

  • For this article, Get it @ ASU shows the message, "Sorry, this item was not found in our electronic holdings."
  • How could you get a scanned PDF copy of this article?

7. Find out if the journal that published the article you chose to look at is 'peer-reviewed' or 'refereed'?  

(Hint: a journal is 'peer-reviewed,' (also called 'refereed') when the articles that are submitted for possible publication are reviewed by experts in the field who provide comments, ask questions, and recommend that the article be accepted or rejected for publication, based on its quality of research and analysis.  Find out more about 'peer-review.')

  • Scroll down in the Get it @ ASU window to 'More about this resource,' and click on the link, 'Find this journal in Ulrichsweb.com.'
  • Scroll through the information page on Ulrichs web for the journal.  Do you see a category saying 'Refereed'?  If you do and you see the word, "Yes," and the referee shirt symbol, then the journal that published the article you looked at is a peer-reviewed journal.  

Last step!

Awesome!  You have completed this pre-library session assignment!

All that's left is to head over to your Blackboard course site and take your library quiz - if you went through the steps above, you should ace it with ease! 

Comments or suggestions on this assignment?  Use the Feedback box below (the email address is optional - feel free to leave that blank for anonymous comments).  


Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations