Login to LibApps

NUR 330: Professional nursing roles and responsibilities.: Home

Nursing Research Guide

Learning Objectives

At the end of this class session, students will:

1) Know about resources and services from the ASU Libraries website.

2) Know quick and easy ways to search Evidence Based Practice databases for nursing theory and theorists.

3) Know where to find resources for APA style guidance, and for presentation images and media.

4) Know about Interlibrary Loan and  RefWorks and where to set up your accounts.

5) Know how to contact Ask-a-Librarian for help.

Your 3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Libraries home page, http://lib.asu.edu

  • My Library Account
    • Manage checked out items, requests, & more!
  • My Illiad Account
    • InterLibrary Loan & Document Delivery: PDFs of journal articles & book chapters; access to materials not available at ASU
    • More Info
  • My RefWorks Account:

The Basics of APA Style

The Basics of APA Style (online tutorial via the American Psycological Assocation website)

Citation Styles Library Guide - APA Style tab (APA Style information and resources)

Getting Started

Hello and Welcome to the NUR 330 Course Guide!  Explore the resources on this guide tailored to your course assignments and research needs.  Have suggestions for this guide?  Let us know by contacting the Health Sciences Librarian or via the Feedback Survey on the bottom right of this page.

Looking for more Nursing Research suggestions?  Try the Nursing Research Guide, linked in the top box on the Left.

If you have questions, please feel free to contact us!

Get help online from a reference librarian via email or live 24/7 chat.

Ask a Librarian

Health Sciences Librarians

Kevin Pardon / 602-496-0487 / kevin.pardon@asu.edu

Virginia Pannabecker / 602-496-0683 / virginia.pannabecker@asu.edu

Research Databases

PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.'  Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.

Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.

National Guidelines ClearinghouseNGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

ERIC (via CSA Ilumina): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Images and more for presentations

Click the Creative Commons Search link below and type a keyword in the search box to find images, video, and more content that has a Creative Commons license for re-use, adaptation, or other purposes (you still need to cite your source though, if you use these in your presentation, to give attribution (credit) to the photo/image/video creator):

Creative Commons Search

How to cite an online image in APA style:

General Format

If Author is given:

Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

If no Author:

Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of website)

Flickr photo example*:

Deal, P. (Photographer). (2011). Nurse [digital photograph], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/armymedicine/5710329658 

*In this example of a Flickr photo citation, the photographer's name is given in the caption - if it were not given, I would use the name of the person/group who posted the photo as the author if they took the photo, but if there is any question, use the example for the general 'No Author' format above.

Open Clip Art image example:

bedpanner. (Artist). (2012). Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image], Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Open Clip Art image example - done as though no author given (since the official name of the artist is not given):

Enrolled scrub nurse [digital image]. (2012). Retrieved September 6, 2012, from: http://openclipart.org/detail/168580/enrolled-scrub-nurse-by-bedpanner

Catalog Search

Search here for books (print and ebooks) and more:

Suggested key words include:

nursing theory

dorothea orem

hildegard peplau

Meet Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations