Login to LibApps

PPE 501 Introduction to Research and Evaluation in Education: Introduction

Overview of educational inquiry from controlled, quantitative to qualitative, naturalistic. Emphasizes locating and critically interpreting published research.

Finding Books & Media

ASU Libraries Catalog

Catalog Search

Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles: This is a keyword search.


Peer-Reviewed/Refereed Journals

Peer-reviewed and refereed are synonyms describing the same thing. 

Peer-review is the process whereby an author's peers, who are experts in the same field, read and evaluate the author's article submitted for publication.  This process is important in the decision about whether or not the article is published in the journal as written, with edits and modification or it is rejected. An article going through the peer-review process is called a refereed article.

Peer-reviewed/refereed articles are written for scholars in the field. Articles always have a list of references, generally have footnotes or in-text citations, may include tables, graphs or illustrations to support research, illustrations are in black & white with generally no color and they have few to no ads.

Finding Articles

Physical Education Index 
This database is an index to materials from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and patents on physical education, sports law, kinesiology, physical therapy, etc.

SPORT Discus 
(1975+) Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics.

Education Full Text 
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest) 
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Google Scholar
Operates similar to regular Google but indexes only scholarly articles, books, book chapters & reports etc.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)(1975+ )
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine


Bee Gallegos
Specialties: Children's & Young Adult Literature, Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations