Login to LibApps

SOC 340: The Sociology of Deviance: Home

For students in Dr. Fey's SOC 340 class

How To Get Help

Having Trouble Finding Your Article?

The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are two ways that you can do this:

Search the title of the article in Library One Search. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work.

If that method doesn't work you can also use our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the full text online if we have it or to see if we have it in print.

These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).

How to Begin

To identify articles on your topic, start by clicking on Research Databases on the library homepage. Then you can select your database title from the A-Z listing. For some of our most popular databases there are also direct links at the bottom of the library homepage under "most used resources". You can also use the links to the databases in the box below; just click on the title of the database, and it will take you to a page where you can connect to that source.

Selected Databases for Social Science Research

Sociological Abstracts: A primary database for research in sociology and related areas. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of journal article. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: political attitudes AND college students.

Academic Search Premier: Also known as Ebscohost. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas including the social sciences. Also covers a lot of popular magazines that are not research-based, so be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles". Use the "advanced search" option to search more effectively.

SocIndex with Fulltext: Searches the same way as Academic Search Premier, but adds coverage for some additional social science journals. You may want to search both databases for a more comprehensive search. Remember to use the "advanced search" option and to click on "scholarly peer reviewed articles".

PsycInfo: Covers all areas of psychology and is also a primary database for research in family studies and human development. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: social anxiety AND treatment effectiveness.

JSTOR: Good coverage of important journals in many disciplines, including almost all areas of the social sciences. Useful for interdisciplinary research. Note that is an archive, not a source of current literature. Most journals included in JSTOR will not have the last few years included, so make sure you use JSTOR along with another database to get more recent material.

Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas including the social sciences. A good place to start your research; just remember that it is not comprehensive and unfortunately there is no way to limit to peer-reviewed materials. There are also no abstracts to view. Use the "advanced search" option to focus your search more effectively.

 

Remember: Once you have done a search in a database, look for a link to full text. That is the first place to click to find the article. If you don't see something that says full text, click the yellow "get it @ ASU" button. That will also lead you to the article if the library has it online. 

 

 

Strategies for Successful Searching

  • Relevant articles may or may not use the actual phrase "deviant behavior" or "social deviance". They might...but they might not.
  • Be creative when deciding on keywords to search. Think about different ways to describe what you're looking for. For example, a search for articles on "sitting too close to someone" might be called "personal space" in an academic journal article.
  • Adding an asterisk at the end of a word will get alternative word endings. A search on devian* will find both the words deviance and deviant. Very handy! (Note that this does not work in Google Scholar).
  • Link concepts with the word AND. For example, a good way to find articles on how people feel about the death penalty would be to search: public opinion and death penalty 
  • If there are different ways to say the same thing, consider using the linking word OR. For example, death penalty is also often referred to as capital punishment. To make sure you find all of the relevant articles, you can search it like this: death penalty or capital punishment
  • Remember to click on the tab or check the box that says "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly". This will make sure you get the kind of research that you probably need for your assignment.
  • If you are not finding what you are looking for, please ask for assistance. We are here to help you!

Your Librarian

JoAnn Mulvihill
Contact:
Need help? Call me at 480-965-3081 or send me an email. My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1N.

Subjects: Psychology, Sociology, Family and Human Development, Counseling and Counseling Psychology
My Profile and Guides

For More Information

Additional information can be found in this library research guide:

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations