Login to LibApps

SOC 500: Research Methods: Home

This guide is intended for graduate students in a research methods course in the Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics.

How To Get Help

For More Information

More resources and additional information can be found in these library research guides:

Sociology

Family and Human Development

Tests and Measures

 

Article Databases

Which database should you use to find research articles on your topic? These are good places to start.

Google Scholar: Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive and there are no summaries or abstracts. There are options for both Basic Search and Advanced Search. Use this link to Google Scholar or the link on the library home page to ensure that the ASU Libraries' fulltext journal content is linked from Google Scholar. For more search tips and examples on how to use Google Scholar more effectively, use the tab at the top of this page or click here: Google Scholar Search Tips.

PsycInfo: Covers all areas of psychology and related fields and is a primary database for family studies and human development. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication. After you do a search there are limits that you can apply if appropriate for things like methodology, population, age group, and more.

Sociological Abstracts: Covers all areas of sociology including sociological aspects of family, children, etc. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: social media AND friendship.

 

 

Some students also find these additional databases to be helpful:

SocIndex with Fulltext : SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines.

Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Social Services Abstracts: more social work than sociology or family studies, but the two areas sometimes overlap

Web of Science (sometimes known as Social Science Citation Index): interdisciplinary, useful functions include cited reference searching and finding related records

Dissertations & Theses: identifies doctoral dissertations and masters theses, includes some international but mostly U.S and Canada; full text PDF files online for most doctoral dissertations and a very few masters theses. Does not cover journal articles, but can still be a valuable resource for the researcher

Just for fun

from xkcd: http://xkcd.com/552/

licensed under Creative Commons

Google Scholar

Your Librarian

JoAnn Mulvihill
Contact:
Need help? Call me at 480-965-3081 or send me an email. My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1N.

Subjects: Psychology, Sociology, Family and Human Development, Counseling and Counseling Psychology
My Profile and Guides
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations