Login to LibApps

SWU 250 Stress Management Tools: Home

Subjects: Social Sciences

Useful Links

Some Resources for Peer-Reviewed Content

Academic Search Premier A multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides materials supporting different points of view on current social issues. The materials include viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly articles and links to subject-indexed web sites. 

Social Services Abstracts This database covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including, but not limited to, welfare services, social education & practice, community & mental health services, poverty, homelessness, social & health policy, and welfare services.

Google Scholar  enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

 

Google Searching Tips

When Searching Google:

  • .gov name is derived from government, indicating its restricted use by government entities in the United States. The gov domain is administered by the General Services Administration (GSA), an independent agency of the United States federal government.
  • .edu Since 2001, new registrants to the domain have been required to be United States-affiliated institutions of higher education, though before then non-U.S.-affiliated—and even non-educational institutions—registered, with some retaining their registrations to the present.
  • .org domain was originally intended for non-profit entities, but this restriction was not enforced and has been removed. The domain is commonly used by schools, open-source projects, and communities, as well as by for-profit entities.
  • .net name is derived from the word network, indicating it was originally intended for organizations involved in networking technologies, such as Internet service providers and other infrastructure companies. However, restrictions were never enforced and the domain is now a general purpose namespace. It is still popular with network operators, the advertising sector, and is often treated as an alternative to com.
  • .com name is derived from the word commercial, indicating its original intended purpose for domains registered by commercial organizations.

Social Sciences Librarian

Deborah Abston
Subjects:Social Work, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Public Affairs, Journalism & Mass Media, Community Resources & Development
Contact:
ASU Libraries Downtown Phoenix campus
UCENT Building
Lower Level
602-496-0307
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations