Login to LibApps

SWU 303 Micro Human Behavior and the Social Environment: Home

Human behavior in the social environment throughout the life cycle, analyzing theories of human development within an integrative multidimensional framework.

Useful Links

Selected Databases

Library Databases – Social Work/Sociology/Psychology



Social Services Abstracts (1980+) Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts  (1963+) Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

PsycInfo (1887+) Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide (1970+) A core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Covers a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Contains citations with abstracts to professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to over 719,600 records.


Related Subjects



Academic Search Premier 1975+) Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.

Education Abstracts (6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Periodicals Index Online - (1700-1995) an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed.

Periodicals Archive Online - (1770-1995) full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.

Lexis-Nexis Academic - Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotations; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts.

Access World News - Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch - (1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

Dissertation and Theses (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also contains citations and abstracts to masters' theses. Covers approximately 3,000 subject areas.



Social Sciences Librarian

Deborah Abston
Subjects:Social Work, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Public Affairs, Journalism & Mass Media, Community Resources & Development
ASU Libraries Downtown Phoenix campus
UCENT Building
Lower Level
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations