Login to LibApps

TEL 215 Child & Adolescent Development: Getting Started

Course page in support of TEL 215 Child & Adolescent Development

About This Guide

This guide is designed to assist students enrolled in the TEL 215 Child & Adolescent Development course across campuses. Resources needed to complete assignments are listed & links provided to the relevant databases for finding journal articles, identifying and finding summaries & reviews of children's and young adult literature.  

Link to the Learning Badges to login and complete the Scholar Badge consisting of several tutorials. You must create and log into your Credly account to be awarded certificates and/or badges. Upon completion of each tutorial you will be awarded an individual certificate and completion of all tutorials within a badge earns you a badge. Several other badges are also available if you are interested, including the Education Badge. 

If you have questions or suggestions about this guide, contact Bee Gallegos Fletcher Library, West campus.

Assignment

Developmental Domain Presentation:
Research specific topic in development and research, create and facilitate to class. Issues in development include Cognitive, Physical, or Social/Emotional Development. ERIC is a good database for this.

Children's Literature Analysis:
Choose two books that teach a specific social skill related to Social/Emotional Development of the young child. Read, analyze, and provide recommendations related to research based evidence to support SED. 

Search the the ASU Library Catalog by title of the book or keyword using words in the title or words describing the subject of the book. Books with a location of West campus (Fletcher) Library Children and Young Adult are located on 2nd floor West Of Fletcher Library.  Books with Hayden Children and Young Adult or Poly Children and Young Adult are located on those campuses but delivery delivery between campuses can be requested.  Use the CLCD database listed in database column to the right to locate reviews and/or summaries of the book selected. For more information check out the Children's & Young Adult Literature Library Guide

Is this APPropriate?
Research the influences of technology and media related to cognitive and physical development. Create developmentally appropriate APPs for the adolescent.

Debates:
Research & present a side to argue on your assigned 'hot topic' in development and schooling. These databases: Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher may help you locate pro/con arguments on your topic.

Searching for Books

ASU Library Catalog Search

Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles: This is a keyword search.


Citing Sources

APA Citation Style is the preferred style for MLFTC. Use APA Style to cite the sources used in each assignment.Below you will find resources that will help you with APA style, including formatting bibliographies

Check out our tutorial APA Citation Style or for more information and examples we have a Citation Styles Library Guide APA Citation Style

 
 

About RefWorks

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles.More information about RefWorks

Create your own RefWorks account now.

Finding Articles Using Education Databases

Search these education databases to identify & locate peer-reviewed articles in the field of education and related fields.  Additional relevant databases can be found on the Education Library Guide under the tab "Article Databases".
 

ERIC (via Proquest) 
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Education Full  
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

LearnTechLib
Peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in education technology and e-learning.

 PsycINFO  (via Proquest) 
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.

Google Scholar 
Contains scholarly article, books, book chapters, papers etc that can be searched similar to the way Google is searched.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database [CLCD] 
Contains critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.

Academic Search Premier
General, multidisciplinary database contains scholarly, trade and general articles

Children's Literature & Young Adult Library Guide

The resources in this library guide will assist in searching and/or selecting children's & YA literature titles. There are links to review sources, journals, associations and websites and databases focusing on juvenile literature.  

 

Education & History Librarian

Bee Gallegos's picture
Bee Gallegos
Specialties: History, Education, Children's & Young Adult Literature, Educational Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

3 Library Accounts

Access these accounts under 'My Accounts' on the ASU Library home page,http://lib.asu.edu

Hours and Locations