Login to LibApps

TEL 315 Child & Adolescent Psychology: TEL 315 Child & Adolescent Psychology

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Your assignment requires you find and incorporate primary and secondary articles in your literature review.  Primary sources are generally considered 'original' doucments or sources. In history for example, a primary source could be a diary or journal, government records including court or property records and military reports. In education a primaryarticle is oftern called an empirical article.  Essentially it refers to original research. 

While a secondary source uses or discusses what is found in a primary source or event.

For additional information about primary or empirical articles view this tutorial: Empirical Research Articles.

 

Assignment - Education Students

Research Literature Review

     Locate and review at least four (4) research articles -- at least two primary and two secondary articles

·       all articles should come from either peer-reviewed or scholarly sources (no internet articles/sources allowed)

·       all articles should be from the years 2001 – present.


 Search ERIC or Education Full-Text to locate articles

 

·      ERIC

-Keyword search or Subject search using Thesaurus

 

-Limit to primary or empirical articles before entering search terms by selecting Document type: 143 Reports: Research

 

            -Limit to peer-reviewed articles

 

            -Search results are listed by relevance.

o   Limit results by date

           

·      Education Full Text

-Keyword search or Subject search using                           Thesaurus

-Limit to peer-reviewed articles

-Search results are listed by relevance.

o   Limit results by date

 

Keyword/topics - Database Subjects in ERIC & Education Full Text [EFT]

 

School Environment:

       ERIC: Educational environment

       EFT: Organizational climate (education)

 

   Student Achievement:
            ERIC: Academic Achievement
            EFT: Academic Achievement
 

 

Assignment - Non-Education Students

1-    Assessing Parenting Literature Review

 

·      Find 3-4 primary/secondary articles that address the questions/ideas discovered in analysis of parenting survey results

·       Articles should come from scholarly, research journals (no internet articles/sources allowed)

·      Suggested databases to use:

o   ERIC

o   Education Full Text

o   PsycInfo

o   Academic Search Premier

 

2-    Alternative Journal 1 – Environmental Influence on Child Development

 

·      Select a book, biography, documentary, movie, TV show, or some other media presentation of a child or adolescent whose developmental environment differed significantly from your own   

·      Search ASU Online Catalog to locate books or media.

o   Searching media by keyword add the word ‘videorecording’ to located videos, DVDs etc.

Finding Articles Using Education Databases

Search these education databases to identify & locate peer-reviewed articles in the field of education and related fields.  Additional relevant databases can be found on the Education LibGuide under the tab "Article Databases".

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

EdITLib Digital Library
Valuable resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
(1973+) Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.

PsycINFO  (via Proquest)
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.

Search Strategy

Search Tips for ERIC (ProQuest)


Step 1:  Select a topic

Step 2:  Click on the ERIC link in Database box

Step 3: Enter keywords & click Search OR Click on Thesaurus to find subject

Step 4:  Use subjects found in Thesaurus to search

Step 5: Limit results to empirical articles [DT:  143 Reports: Research]

Step 6: Click on  to locate full-text

 

The attached handout with images outlines the steps described above

Education Librarians

Downtown:
Alexandra Humphreys
602-496-1188
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu

Tempe campus:
Linda DeFato
480-965-3082
Linda.DeFato@asu.edu

West campus:
Bee Gallegos
602-543-8509
Bee.Gallegos@asu.edu
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations