Login to LibApps

TEL 501 Introduction to Research & Evaluation In Education: TEL 501 Intro to Research & Evaluation in Education

Education Specific Databases

Search these education databases to identify & locate peer-reviewed articles in the field of education and related fields.  Additional relevant databases can be found on the Education LibGuide under the tab "Article Databases".

Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

EdITLib Digital Library
Valuable resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
(1973+) Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.

PsycINFO  (via Proquest)
(1887+ ) A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.


Search Tips

To formulate an effective search strategy, follow these steps:

 

Decide on you topic & state it as completely as possible

 Ex: What instructional methods work best with high school social studies students?

 

Identify the most important concepts or ideas in the statement, usually 3-5 ideas or concepts

      Ex: high school students, instructional methods, social studies

 

Brainstorm several synonyms or keywords related to each concept or idea; arrange in groups

      Ex: high school students, secondary school students, adolescents

             instructional strategies, teaching methods, teaching strategies      

             social studies, social sciences, history, government

 

Combine search terms, both keywords and subjects, with Boolean connectors [e.g. AND, OR]

 

      AND is used to combine different concepts [teaching strategies AND high school students]; narrows    and focuses search results

 

      OR is used to combine keywords/synonyms describing the same concept [high school students OR secondary school students]; broadens the search results

 

 

Keyword vs. Subject searching

 Keyword word searches generally retrieves more results because the keyword is searched  everywhere in the database. Good approach when search a new idea or program.

 

 Subject searches generally are more focused and thus retrieve fewer results because the search is restricted to subject field in each item record. ERIC has a Thesaurus listing the subjects used in this database

 

Use the attached worksheet to help create a search strategy.

 

Education Librarians

Downtown:
Alexandra Humphreys
602-496-1188
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu

Tempe campus:
Linda DeFato
480-965-3082
Linda.DeFato@asu.edu

West campus:
Bee Gallegos
602-543-8509
Bee.Gallegos@asu.edu

Empirical & Peer-Reviewed Articles

These tutorials will help you in understanding empirical and peer-reviewed articles.

Empirical Articles Tutorials

Peer-Reiewed/Refereed Articles

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations