United Nations
Online
- UN Digital LibraryThe United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document.
- UNdataSince its foundation, the United Nations System has been collecting statistical information from member states on a variety of topics. UNdata provides a single point of access for numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- UNdata ExplorerInterface which allows browsing/searching by dataset, UN Program, or general topic area.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThe Statistics Division's main functions are the collection, processing and dissemination of statistical information; the standardization of statistical methods, classifications and definitions; the technical cooperation programme; and the coordination of international statistical programmes and activities.
- UNSD Statistical DatabasesLinks to UN statistical databases, UN Country Profiles, National and International statistical websites.
- UN Comtrade DatabaseFree access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.
- World Statistics PocketbookThe World Statistics Pocketbook is an annual compilation of key statistical indicators prepared by the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Over 50 indicators have been collected from more than 20 international statistical sources and are presented in one-page profiles for 224 countries or areas of the world.
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library Statistics Research GuideLink to the UN Statistical Resources via the Dag Hammarskjöld Library.
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics OnlineThe Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.
ASU Library
The United Nations is an excellent source of a wide variety of international statistical data and while much of the recent information is available online through UN web sites, much of the older material was only available in print through the UN publishing sales program. Since the ASU Library is not a United Nations Depository, publications have been purchased to meet the needs of various academic disciplines and may be located through the libraries.
You can search ASU Library' holdings of UN-related printed statistical publications is to run the following (or related) keyword search in our online catalog: "united nations" statistic*
Some of the more popular UN statistical publications in our Government Documents collection include the following series. Titles may have changed over the years and coverage may not be complete. Please see contact us for more assistance.
- Population and vital statistics report The report presents data on total, female and male population counts from population census, population estimates and number and rates of vital events - births, deaths and infant deaths - for all the countries of the world.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.APublication date: ASU has 1949-1967; some 1970s and 1980s issues
- Commodity trade statisticsCall number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.DPublication date: ASU has scattered issues between 1952 and 1998Official annual trade statistics reported by countries and reflecting international merchandise flows detailed by commodity and partner country with coverage reaching up to 99 percent of world merchandise trade.
- Statistical Methodology Various publications related to how the UN manages its statistical information. Scattered holdings.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.FPublication date: 1955 -
- International trade statistics yearbook An overview of the latest trends of trade in goods and services showing international trade for 257 individual commodities (3-digit SITC groups) and for the 11 main Extended Balance of Payments Services (EBOPS) categories.Call number: ST/ESA/ STAT/ SER.GPublication date: 1950 -
- Energy statistics yearbook Annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trendsCall number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.JPublication date: 1952-
- The world's women Published every 5 years, statistics and analysis on the status of women and men in the world, highlighting the current situation and changes over time.Call number: ST/ESA/ STAT/ SER.KPublication date: 1990-
- International Statistical Standards Methodology for compiling statistics.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.MPublication date: 1970-
- Compendium of human settlements statistics Statistics on human settlements and housing conditions for 243 countries or areas and 315 cities in the areas of population, households and urbanization. It focuses on the process of urbanization and characteristics of cities in developed and developing regionsCall number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.NPublication date: 1971 - 2001
- Yearbook of national accounts statistics A summary of the principal national accounting aggregates based on official national accounts data for more than 200 countries and areas Continued by ST/ESA/STAT/SER.XCall number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.OPublication date: 1957 - 1981
- Industrial commodity statistics yearbook The Yearbook provides statistics on the production of about 600 major industrial commodities. Data are provided for a ten-year period and for approximately 200 countries and territories. The commodities have been selected on the basis of their importance in world production and trade.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.PPublication date: 1938 -
- Monthly bulletin of statistics Economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.Call number: ST/ESA/ STAT/ SER.QPublication date: 1953-2001
- Demographic yearbook The Demographic Yearbook is an international compendium of national demographic statistics provided by national statistical authorities to the Statistics Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs. The Demographic Yearbook is part of the set of coordinated and interrelated publications issued by the United Nations and its specialized agencies, designed to supply statistical data for such users as demographers, economists, public-health workers and sociologists. Through the co-operation of national statistical services, available official demographic statistics are compiled in the Demographic Yearbook for more than 230 countries or areas throughout the world.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.RPublication date: 1948-
- Statistical yearbook Annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.SPublication date: 1948-
- World statistics pocketbook Annual compilation of key statistical indicators including agriculture, balance of payments, education, energy, environment, food, gender, health, industrial production, information and communication, international finance, international tourism, international trade, labour, migration, national accounts, population and prices. The technical notes contain brief descriptions of the concepts and methodologies used in the compilation of the indicators as well as information on the statistical sources for the indicators. Reference to primary sources of the data is provided for readers interested in longer time-series data or more detailed descriptions of the concepts or methodologies.Call number: ST/ESA/STAT/SER.VPublication date: 1976-
- Last updated: Jan 2, 2024 8:27 AM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/UnitedNations
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
