Login to LibApps

Aerial Photos: Home

A guide to aerial photographs in the ASU Libraries' Map Collection.

Map Specialist

Karina Wilhelm
Contact:
Map and Geospatial Center
Noble Library, 3rd floor
480-965-5183

Your Librarian

Introduction

 The ASU Libraries' Map Collection contains more than 20,000 contemporary and historical aerial photos related to Arizona and the Phoenix metropolitan area. 

The Collection houses photos from government and private organizations such as U.S. Geological Survey, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service, AZ Department of Transportation, and Landiscor.

Finding Photos

  1. AZ City Photo Index - Search by city to see the partial extent of aerial photography coverage in the Map Collection.
  2. View resources in this Library Guide.
  3. Search the Map Index - Most of the Map Collection's individual photos and photo sets are included in the Map Index. In the Terms box, enter "aerial photography" and your geographic area of interest.
  4. Contact the Map Collection - If you need assistance or more information on the aerial photography in the Map Collection, please contact the Collection staff.

Need Additional Help?

Map Collection staff are available to answer reference questions during collection hours.  Visit us at the Map Collection in Noble Library or contact us by phone, 480-965-3582, or email

Photo Use Policy

The Collection's maps and aerial photographs are available for public use in the library during all regular Map Collection hours. Photocopies of most Collection aerial photos can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan service at your local public or academic library. Please identify the Project ID and Photo Numbers when requesting copies.

Self-serve photocopiers also are available for reproducing non-copyrighted materials. Photos must be signed out at the Map Collection Reference Desk for photocopying. A scanner is available in the Collection for use with non-copyrighted aerial photographs. USB flash drives and CDs are recommended for file storage.

Map Collection staff do not scan or copy photographs for users.

Hours and Location

The Map Collection is located on the 3rd floor of the Noble Science and Engineering Library on Tyler Mall on the ASU Tempe Campus. Check the campus map for library locations and visitor parking.

Regular hours:
Monday - Friday: 9am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Hours may vary during holidays and intersessions. Call (480) 965-3582 for more information, or check the on-line schedule.

 

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations