Login to LibApps

ASU 101: Health Innovation: Pre-Library Session Assignment

Step 1: Get to know your ASU Libraries

ASU Libraries is here to support you with your research and studying needs!

Watch this 1 minute 'Library Minute' video for an overview of ASU Libraries resources, services, and locations:

http://youtu.be/ZpzDwCp7yo4

Look for:

  1. How many library locations are available?
  2. How can you get to the online library at ASU?
  3. Can you request materials to come to any location?
  4. What are 'Library Guides?'
  5. What service can connect you to research assistance anytime, 24/7?

Step 2: ASU Libraries doesn't have it? We can get it for you! (For free!)

Join Anali for a 'Library Minute' on the ASU Libraries Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service

http://youtu.be/1nKw6nnlyJA

Look for:

  1. How quickly will you usually receive a scanned PDF of an article that you request via Interlibrary Loan?

Step 3: Set up your RefWorks Account

About RefWorks

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to create and manage your citations via the Web. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles.

1. Create your own RefWorks account now.

2. Contact your Librarian if you would like to schedule an appointment on how to use Refworks.  Or go to this link to find out more about Refworks.

Step 4: Learn 4 methods to get to the full text of an article from its citation information

In this course, your instructor will often provide citations of articles on your blackboard course site, and you will need to find the full text of each article to read it for the course.

Here are 4 methods to get to full text - at least one of these should work for any article citation.

 

The 4 methods below use this APA style article citation:

Pattyn, E., Mahieu, N., Selfe, J., Verdonk, P., Steyaert, A., & Witvrouw, E. (2012). What predicts functional outcome after treatment for patellofemoral pain?Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, 44(10), 1827-1833. doi:10.1249/MSS.0b013e31825d56e3 

 

Tip: If a citation shows a 'doi' (digital object identifier) - try this first to find the full text!  A doi is a unique number assigned to identify 1 specific document.  You can see an example at the end of the citation above:

doi:10.1249/MSS.0b013e31825d56e3

 

Method 1:

Search for the article title using Library One Search - this is the search box you'll see on your MyASU page when you click the book stack Library link, and the search box you'll see on the ASU Libraries home page: https://lib.asu.edu

  • Look at the citation for the article you need to find.  Copy and paste the doi (10.1249/MSS.0b013e31825d56e3) or the article title, "What predicts functional outcome after treatment for patellofemoral pain?," into the Library One Search box, then click 'Search Library.'  When you see the article title listed in your Library One Search results,
  • Click on the title for full text options.

 

 

If you see no full text, look for an Option linking you to "Interlibrary Loan," then sign in and use your Illiad account to request the full text of the article.

 

Method 2:

Search for the article title using Google Scholar - there is a tab for Google Scholar on the search box you'll see on your MyASU page when you click the book stack Library link, and the search box you'll see on the ASU Libraries home page: https://lib.asu.edu

  • Click on the Google Scholar tab
  • Copy and paste the doi (10.1249/MSS.0b013e31825d56e3) or the article title, "What predicts functional outcome after treatment for patellofemoral pain?," into the Google Scholar Search box, then click 'Search.'  When you see the article title listed in your Google Scholar search results,
  • Click on the 'Get it @ ASU' link for full text options.

 

 

Method 3

Search for the article title using PubMed (an open access research database for health research) - there is a link for "All Research Databases" underneath the search box you'll see on your MyASU page when you click the book stack Library link, and in the gray bar across the ASU Libraries home page: https://lib.asu.edu

  • Click on the Research Databases link
  • Click on the quick link to the PubMed Research Database 
  • Click on PubMed by the 'connect' arrow - to get into PubMed to search
  • Copy and paste the doi (10.1249/MSS.0b013e31825d56e3) or the article title, "What predicts functional outcome after treatment for patellofemoral pain?," into the PubMed Search box, then click 'Search.'  When you see the article title listed in your PubMed search results,
  • Click on the 'Get it @ ASU' link for full text options.

 

 

Method 4:

Use the ASU Libraries 'Journals' search to find the article - there is a tab for Journals on the search box you'll see on your MyASU page when you click the book stack Library link, and the search box you'll see on the ASU Libraries home page: https://lib.asu.edu

  • Click on the Journals tab
  • Look at your citation and identify the title of the journal in which the article was published.  In our example from above, the journal title is, "Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise"
  • Copy and paste the journal title, "Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise," into the Electronic (online) Journals Search box, then click 'Find Journal.'  
  • The next page will show
    • Whether ASU Libraries subscribes to this journal online
    • The date range of ASU Libraries' subscription and
    • Links for online access to this journal
  • Check the date of your article (ex: 2012).  If access is available for that date, click on the appropriate link to get to the journal page
  • On the journal page, use the 'search this journal' or 'search this title' to search for the title of the article you need, or browse to the appropriate year, volume, issue, and page number to get to the article
  • Look for a PDF or HTML full text version of the article by its title

 

Your Librarian

Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Your Librarian

Janice Hermer
Contact:
411 N Central Ave, Downtown campus Library
602-496-0683
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations