Login to LibApps

ASU Dissertations and Theses: How to Get a Copy

The ASU Library has a copy for most of the disserations and theses written by ASU graduate and honors students. This guide explains how to determine what is available and how to get a copy.

Introduction

The information below will tell you how you can get a copy of an ASU dissertation or thesis; this will depend on your affiliation to Arizona State University and whether you live in the Phoenix Metropolitan area where the ASU Librares are located.  Click on the most appropriate link.

I am ...

 

Instructions for ASU Faculty, Staff and Currently Enrolled Students

ASU faculty, staff and currently enrolled students have access to all the ASU dissertations and theses in the Libraries' collection.  For dissertations and theses not avaialble from the Libraries, check with the academic unit that granted the degree.   If the dissertation/thesis you want is available in the*:

  • ASU Digitial Repository: ASU Electronic Dissertations and Theses Collection, these documents are freely available to all from both on- and off-campus.  You may view, print or download.
     
  • ProQuest databases (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU), you are allowed to access these databases from both on- and off-campus; off-campus access requires asurite/password.  You may view, print or download.
     
  • Print collection, you may:
    • Check out the second copy (if one is available) just as you would with a regular book and for your regular check out period; if the copy is kept in the High Density Collection, use the Request button on the catalog record to have the copy retrieved.
       
    • View the first copy (aka the archival copy) in the Luhrs Reading Room (Hayden Library 4th floor); this copy may not be checked out.  Please contact the Luhrs Reading Room (Hayden Library 4th floor, 480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance so that the copy will be available when you arrive. 
       
  • Please Note: The Barrett Honors College maintains a print collection for most of the honors theses issued from them.  This collection is the only place where the honors theses from 2006 through Spring 2012 are available; please contact the College at thesis@asu.edu or use their Contact Barrett  form to check on the availability of a specific thesis from this time.    
     

*Not sure in which database/collection the dissertation or thesis is located?  See the section on "How to Find." 

Questions?  Need more assistance?   Contact the Ask a Librarian service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian

Instructions for ASU Alumni and Individuals Who Live in the Phoenix Metropolitan Area

ASU Alumni and individuals who live in the Phoenix Metropolitan area have access to all the ASU dissertations and theses in the ASU Library however there are restrictions in some cases.  If the dissertation/thesis you want is in the*:

  • ASU Digitial Repository: ASU Electronic Dissertations and Theses Collection, these documents are freely available to all on the Internet - no need to come to the ASU Library. You may view, print or download.
     
  • ProQuest databases (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU), you are allowed to access these databases only from within an ASU Library; ProQuest does not allow us to offer off-campus access to those who are not either ASU faculty/staff or a currently enrolled student.   Once in the database, you may view, print or download documents.
     
    Notes:
    • There are a limited number of computers in the ASU Library available for public use.  The public-use computers are located in the Hayden and Noble libraries on the Tempe campus, the Polytechnic campus library and Fletcher Library on the West campus; there are no public-use computers in the Downtown campus library.  To use one of these public computers you'll be required to register at that Library's Information Desk; because these public-access computers are in heavy demand, your time will be limited each day (usually 30-90 minutes).   If you need to spend substantial time using our online resources we encourage you to bring your own laptop or tablet and use the ASU guest WiFi network to connect; there is no charge or time limit on the guest WiFi however you will be restricted to HTTP and HTTPS web browsing (i.e., other network protocols are not supported).  
       
    • There is a fee for printing, scanning and photocopying in all the ASU Library; you will be required to purchase a "copy card" in order to use these services. (For details about the campus printing service.)  There is no charge for downloading documents, so we recommend that you consider bringing portable devices, such as flash drives, on which to capture the PDF files rather than relying on printing or scanning services.    
       
    • If you do not wish to come to the ASU Library, ProQuest provides a service called Dissertation Express; you will be able to freely search for a dissertation/thesis by author or words in the title and then order a copy online.  Prices for the dissertations/theses copies range from $37 for a PDF download to $70 for hardcover print.    The ASU Library does not provide photocopies, scans, nor PDFs from the ProQuest databases.   
       
  • Print collection, you may:
    • View, photocopy or scan the second copy from within the Library.  For dissertations/theses in the high density collection or located in a different ASU Library from the one you will be visiting, please call (480-965-3605) at least two days in advance of your visit so that we may have the copy available when you arrive.

      Notes:
      • There is a fee for printing, scanning and photocopying in all the ASU Library; you will be required to purchase a "copy card" in order to use these services. 
         
      • To be able to check out an item from the ASU Library requires the purchase of a "Community Borrowers Card"   Information about this card is available on these web pages:
    • View the first copy (the archival copy) in the Luhrs Reading Room (Tempe campus, Hayden Library, 4th floor);  please call (480-965-4932) or email (archives@asu.edu) in advance to set up an appointment.
       
    • If you do not wish to come to the ASU Library, our Archives and Special Collections Department will make a photocopy (sorry, no scans) of a dissertation/thesis for you.  Please call the department at 480-965-4932 or email archives@asu.edu for details about fees, turn-around times, and delivery options.

       
  • Please note that the Barrett Honor's College, not the ASU Library, maintains control of who can access honors theses from 2006 to the present.  If there is a specific honors thesis you would like to see from that time frame (regardless of whether in print or online) you must contact the College at thesis@asu.edu or use their Contact Barrett  form to check on the availability. These theses are not available for Interlibrary Loan.    
     

 *Not sure in which database/collection the dissertation or thesis is located?  See the section on "How to Find." 

Questions?  Need more assistance?   Contact the Ask a Librarian service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian

Instructions for ASU Alumni and Individuals Who Do NOT Live in the Phoenix Metropolitan Area

ASU Alumni and individuals who do not live in the Phoenix Metropolitan area have access to many, but not all, of the ASU dissertations and theses in the ASU Library.  If the dissertation/thesis you want is in the*:

  • ASU Digitial Repository: ASU Electronic Dissertations and Theses Collection, these documents are freely available to all on the Internet.  You may view, print or download.
     
  • ProQuest databases (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU), ProQuest does not allow us to offer off-campus access to those who are not either ASU faculty/staff or a currently enrolled student.  Check with the local libraries in your area to see if they have access to this database.

    Additionally, ProQuest provides a service called Dissertation Express; you will be able to freely search for a dissertation/thesis by author or words in the title and then order a copy online. Prices for the dissertations/theses copies range from $37 for a PDF download to $70 for hardcover print. The ASU Library does not provide photocopies, scans, nor PDFs from the ProQuest databases.
     
  • Print collection, you may:
    • Request to borrow the second copy (if one is available) via your university's library or your local public library.  The ASU Library does not loan dissertations/theses directly to individuals - the request must come from your library.  Ask at your library for their "Interlibrary Loan" or "Document Delivery" service.  
       
    • Contact our Archives and Special Collections Department for a photocopy (sorry, no scans) of a dissertation/thesis; call (480-965-4932) or email archives@asu.edu for details about fees, turn-around times, and delivery options.
       
  • Please note that the Barrett Honor's College, not the ASU Library, maintains control of who can access honors theses from 2006 to the present.  If there is a specific honors thesis you would like to see from that time frame (regardless of whether in print or online) you must contact the College at thesis@asu.edu or use their Contact Barrett  form to check on the availability. These theses are not available for Interlibrary Loan.    

 

*Not sure in which database/collection the dissertation or thesis is located?  See the section on "How to Find." 

Questions?  Need more assistance?   Contact the Ask a Librarian service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian

Information for Library Staff at Other Libraries

We will loan the second print copy (if available) for ASU Dissertations and Theses in our collection to public, corporate, government, and other academic libraries.   (We do not loan materials directly to individuals, please check with your local library.)   

 

Contact information for our Interlibrary Loan department:

Need More Help?

View the policies and procedures for submitting your dissertation/thesis at the Graduate College's site for"Completing Your Degree; in particular, look under Graduation Procedures, Step 5: Submit Dissertation/Thesis to UMI/ProQuest

​Information about the electronic dissertations and theses in the ASU Digital Repository, including open access issues, embargoes and copyright is available at ASU Digital Repository: Electronic Theses and Dissertations
 

To determine if a specific ASU dissertation or thesis is available in the ASU Digital Repository, the Proquest Dissertation/Thesis database, or available in print in the ASU Library, contact



http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian

Hours and Locations