Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Starting Points

Academic Search Premier

Google Scholar

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Library One Search

Need Help?

Library Guides

Find A Subject Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Report a Technical Problem

Legend

New
Newly acquired database
Trial
Database in trial status
Best Bet
Recommended database for subject
Database outage or alert
Open Access database
Database Conditions of Use

Loading...

Known Outages

 

JSTOR eBooks

Please Note: PLEASE NOTE: The issue regarding "requiring reCAPTCHA verification" notices while attempting to access content in JSTOR resources is currently under investigation. We hope to have this resolved as quickly as possible.  We apologize for the inconvenience.
 

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
An online environment for teaching, writing, and publishing in APA Style. Designed to help users develop their writing and professional research skills, APA Style CENTRAL combines learning and teaching tools, advanced writing and content management technology, and full integration of APA's Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
New
Coverage: Works published through 2016
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Cambridge Histories Online provides full text online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. (Current coverage includes works published through 2016). It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. This resource is particularly useful for providing in-depth historical context. It is also a great resource for online history students.
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Cfile Foundation was founded in 2013 to provide an expanded ceramic field— art, design, architecture and technology—with two things: a knowledge center where the new paradigms shaping our future (and that of other arts) can be addressed, published and broadcast; and a virtual place where a new global, inter-disciplinary community can grow, combine its resources and serve the field during a time of unparalleled flux. In essence we set out to make a ceramic GPS device that would guide the field to its future.
  • Open Access
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A discovery service for peer-reviewed books published under an Open Access license. The DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books and hyperlinks to the full-text of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
  • Open Access
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A discovery service for peer-reviewed books published under an Open Access license. The DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books and hyperlinks to the full-text of the publications at the publisher's website or repository.
New
Coverage: 1690-1876
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
New
Coverage: 1690-1876
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and provides unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods. Additionally, EAN, Series I is cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana® collections held by ASU Library.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare book librarian, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. The collection includes over 30,000 books from the start of printing in Europe to 1701.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare book librarian, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. The collection includes over 30,000 books from the start of printing in Europe to 1701.
New
Coverage: Varies
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This resource provides access to eBooks published by a range of publishers, covering the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities subjects.
New
Coverage: Varies
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This resource provides access to eBooks published by a range of publishers, covering the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities subjects.
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
IBISWorld has industry reports for over 1000 US Industries, as well as global industry reports, especially ones for the UK, Austrailia, Canada, and China.
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
IBISWorld has industry reports for over 1000 US Industries, as well as global industry reports, especially ones for the UK, Austrailia, Canada, and China.
New
Coverage: 1864+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) includes both abstracts/indexes and full text publications, and is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.
New
Coverage: 1864+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts) includes both abstracts/indexes and full text publications, and is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a dynamic resource for the performing arts information and research community.
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.
New
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Social Explorer provides access to census demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present. Users can create maps and reports to visualize and analyze demography and social change throughout history. Datasets are available at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. A collection of interactive demographic maps can be viewed, queried, and exported as images or PowerPoint presentations.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Visual History Archive includes 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors from 56 countries in 32 languages. In addition the archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, testimonies of the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, and the Guatamalan Genocide of 1978-1996. Also being added are collections of Holocaust testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations, such as Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center, and a consortium of 9 Canadian archives which represent the Canadian Jewish experience across Canada.
Trial
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Visual History Archive includes 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors from 56 countries in 32 languages. In addition the archive has expanded to include testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, testimonies of the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, and the Guatamalan Genocide of 1978-1996. Also being added are collections of Holocaust testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations, such as Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center, and a consortium of 9 Canadian archives which represent the Canadian Jewish experience across Canada.
Loading...
Loading...

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are owned by independent providers and are protected by copyright and other laws. They are provided for ASU students, faculty, staff and library users only. ASU is not responsible for the content, format, accuracy or availability of electronic resources.

You must:

  • Use the resources for personal, educational or research purposes only
  • Check the provider's website for permitted uses and restrictions
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distribution and alteration

You must not:

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Distribute these resources beyond ASU faculty, students and staff
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of the resources
Can’t find your subject? See subject mappings.
title
Loading...

Hours and Locations