Login to LibApps

Arizona Architecture from the Archives: Home

Celebrating the Arizona Centennial with an Exhibition of Four Architects from the Archives of the Architecture & Environmental Design Library at the Arizona State University Libraries.

Arizona Architecture from the Archives

Celebrating the Arizona Centennial with an Exhibition of Four Architects from the Archives of the Architecture & Environmental Design Library at the Arizona State University Libraries.

Although the Library’s display area is modest in size, the Architecture and Environmental Design Library is very pleased to be able to display some of its own material from its archival collections about distinctive Arizona-designed architecture in central Arizona. A component of this effort is to celebrate the centennial of Arizona’s statehood. Furthermore, we hope to provide an opportunity for our researchers to see the types of architecture-related artifacts we have in our archives (e.g., original blueprints, construction photographs, early/late architect-produced renderings, presentation boards, hand-painted images, and the like) and which are available for their potential research.

The exhibit will feature the four architects as follows:

Through February 21 Albert Chase McArthur — Architect , Arizona Biltmore Hotel + Cottages (Phoenix) 

Albert Chase McArthur is the architect of the Arizona Biltmore Hotel which opened in Phoenix in 1929. The Library’s archives include sets of blueprints, sections, plans, renderings, construction photographs, and the like of both the both the hotel and cottages.

February 22 – February 29: William P. Bruder — Architect, Burton Barr Phoenix Central Library
March 1 – March 8: Alfred Newman Beadle — Architect, Case Study Apartment # 1 and other Phoenix mid-century buildings
March 12 – March 16: Fred Linn Osmon — Architect of award-winning residential and commercial buildings in central Arizona

For more information about the exhibit, please contact Deborah Koshinsky, director of the Architecture and Environemental Design Library at deborah.koshinsky@asu.edu.

Current Exhibits at the AED Library

Although modest in size, the Architecture and Environmental Design Library showcases materials from its collections. 

Currently on display is the work of  Fred Linn Osmon.

For additional information on the AED Library's Archives and Special Collections, please call (480) 965-6370.

Subject Guide

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations