Login to LibApps

BIO 354: Cell Biology Laboratory: BIO 354: Cell Biology

Subjects: Life Sciences

Documents

This exercise will help you more about the PubMed Search.

Learning Outcomes

Students will know how to:

  1. Find PubMed in ASU Research Databases
  2. Search for Review Articles and Primary Articles in PubM
  3. Use search connectors (Boolean operators) to expand or narrow a search
  4. Find the full-text of an article when searching PubMed

Using Connectors (Boolean Operators)

Tutorial on Search Connectors (Boolean Operators)

Connectors, or Boolean Operators are "AND", "OR", or "NOT."  These words are used in combination to find the articles you want. View this tutorial to find out how to use the connectors to broaden or narrow your search.

Primary vs Secondary Articles

Tutorial on Primary Research Articles - If you are unclear about exactly what a primary (also known as Empirical) article is, view this tutorial.

Tutorial on Peer-Reviewed Journals - Learn the characteristics of Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals.

Searching for Primary Journal Articles

In PubMed, there is no specific designation or limit for "Primary Research Articles" like there is for "Review Articles." 

However, you can find primary research articles by combining some of the following search terms with your keywords and with the "AND" connector:

  • Studies
  • Methods
  • Results
  • Trials

You can also scan journal titles and abstracts and look for the sections that tell you the article is a primary research article. Primary Research articles have the following sections:

  • Materials and Methods section
  • Results section
  • The presence of charts or graphs presenting data

Searching for Review Articles in PubMed

Finding Review Articles in PubMed is easy. Review is a default limit and now shows up on all your searches in PubMed automatically. Look to the left side  below "Article Types" you can select Review.

Finding the Full Text of an Abstract in PubMed

The Get It!@ASU link shows up when you click on each citation in the results. For more information on finding full-text , see the tutorial on using Get It!@ASU.

Additionally, LinkOut, located under each abstract, takes you to articles that ASU has purchased through subscription databases, as well as free articles provided by PubMed. Click on LinkOut and then click on the databases listed there to go to the full-text record.  Usually the PDF or html is located on the right hand margin of the record.

Importing Records from PubMed into RefWorks

Importing PubMed Citations into RefWorks- Written Instructions

Importing Citation from PubMed to RefWorks

In PubMed:

  1. Click in the box to the left of desired records
  2. Click on "Send To" drop-down menu on the right side of the screen.
  3. Choose Destination:  Citation Manager.
  4. Create File (A "citations.nbib" file will be downloaded and saved to your computer).


In RefWorks:

  1. Login to your RefWorks database if you have not already done so.
  2. Click on References and Import at the top of the screen.
  3. Select NLM PubMed from the Import Filter/Data Source drop down menu.
  4. Select PubMed from the Database drop-down menu.
  5. Choose the "citations.nbib" file saved onto your computer.
  6. Click on Import.
  7. Your citation(s) will automatically be imported into the Last Imported Folder.
    You may view the records or move them to the folder of your choice.

Library Workshop Outline

In this workshop, you will:

  • become familiar with ASU Libraries resources for Cell Biology.
  • use the advanced features in PubMed and Biosis Previews databases to find articles on your topics
  • become more familiar with reading the scientific literature.  

Your Librarian

Rene Tanner
Contact:
Tempe Campus
(480) 965-7190
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations