Login to LibApps

BIO 412: Conservation in Practice: BIO 412 - Conservation in Practice

Conservation Biology Journals



RefWorks Tutorials

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials (articles, books, etc.) not owned by ASU Libraries.

Never used Interlibrary Loan? Create an account and get started.

Interlibrary Loan FAQ

Locate a Journal

Search for journals by title.

Catalog Search

Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:

Welcome to the Bio 412 Term Paper Guide

This guide has been created to help you research your topic and write your term paper for this class.

A series of workshops will be offered during the semester that will offer strategies to make your researching and writing easier and more efficient.

Feel free to contact us if you have questions or need assistance.

Formatting Your Term Paper

Use the Instructions to Authors and Author Style Guide for Conservation Biology as the guide for properly formatting your term paper.

When formatting your in-text citations and literature cited section, it can be quite helpful to take a look at articles from the journal itself. Use the Journal Title Lookup to view articles from Conservation Biology.

Search for Articles

Use one of the databases listed below to search for articles.

Selecting an Article Database to Search for Articles

Selecting a Database

Individual articles are not listed in the online library catalog; therefore, you must use an article index or database to search for articles on your topic.

ASU Libraries has hundreds of different databases and indexes to choose from. Some are very broad and cover a wide variety of disciplines, while others are very narrow and only cover specific disciplines.

  • An example of a broad database/index is Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost).  This database/index covers almost all disciplines (e.g. psychology, business, biology).
  • An example of a narrower, subject-specific database/index is BIOSIS Previews. This database/index covers most topics in biology.

It is important to choose the right database or index when searching for articles.

Searching for Articles

After you have selected a database or index, it is time to start searching. The easiest way to start searching is by creating search statements with keywords and connectors.

Here are some search statement examples:

  • habitat* AND conservation
  • (park* OR preserve*) AND conservation AND polic*

Using the * will tell the database to replace the * with alternative endings (e.g. habitat, habitats)

TIP You won’t want to use a phrase, such as conservation policies of international parks and nature preserves in Africa in the database or index, because this will not work (you won’t get any results). Remember to pick out the important words for your topic and use AND/OR to combine them into a search statement.


Selecting a Topic and Finding Background Information

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations