Login to LibApps

BIS 302 Interdisciplinary Inquiry: BIS 302 Assignments and Handouts

A guide to doing the annotated bibliography and literature review for BIS 302

Other BIS Guides

BIS 301 Disciplinary Maps 
Guide to creating a disciplinary map for BIS 301.

BIS Organizational Studies
Guide to research resources for the BIS Organizational Studies program.

Handouts

Below are the links to files of class handouts that are available for download.

Find Sources

To find scholarly sources for your Annotated Bib and Lit Review, use the Research Databases tab above.

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An Annotated Bibliography is a list of all the sources you are going to use to write your paper. "Annotations" are short paragraphs that describe and evaluate each one of those sources separately. 

Writing an Annotated Biblography is an excellent resource to understand exactly what an annotated bibliography is, select appropriate resources and suggest useful language for the annotations.

Literature Review Assignment

What is a Literature Review?

An overview of the significant literature published on a topic. Rather than evaluating each source separately, a lit review is written in essay form, and explains how each work is similar to and how it varies from the others.

For more detailed information, see How to Write a Literature Review.

Example of an undergraduate literature review for a Psychology class on Adolescent Depression. Includes corrections and comments.

Tutorials

In order to evaluate and describe your sources, you need to know the difference between various types of sources. The tutorials below will guide you in selecting the best sources for your annotated bibliography and literature review.

  • Types of Articles        
    Learn the difference between the types of articles found in popular magazines, newspapers, trade publications and scholarly journals.
  • Evaluating Sources         
    Learn to choose the best, most appropriate sources for research papers.

Subject Guide

Julie Tharp
Contact:
Hayden Library, C1E
480-965-5168
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Maps and Addresses

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations