Login to LibApps

Exercise and Wellness: Identifying Peer Reviewed Journals

A guide to research and resources in health promotion, healthy lifestyles, wellness, and sport science.

Identifying Scholarly Journals

Ulrichsweb.com

Covers periodicals, annuals, and irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily and weekly U.S. newspapers; newspapers published outside of the U.S; and cessations since 1979. Provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (ASU Library)

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources (Cal Poly)

How to Identify Scholarly/Refereed/Peer Reviewed Articles (Ithaca College)

Peer Reviewed Journals | Identifying

ASU Library Peer-Reviewed/Refereed Articles Video (self paced) 

You have several options for identifying peer reviewed journals.

How can you idenitfy peer reviewed journals? | Read more about what peer reviewed means.

Some databases allow you to limit to peer reviewed journal aritcles. See sample list of databases.  See screen shot examples from databases. 

After clicking on Getit@ASU button , scroll down to Option 2 and click on 'Find This Journal in Ulrichsweb.com' . You will link out to Ulrichs Periodical Directory and right to your journal title to see if it is "refereed", which is also means peer reviewed.

 

PUBMED statement |  Most journals in PubMed are peer-reviewed or refereed. Non-editorial journal staff review original articles before the articles are accepted for publication.Criteria for peer review and the qualifications of peers or referees vary among publishers.We have no list of peer-reviewed/refereed journals in PubMed; and you cannot limit your search to peer-reviewed journals using PubMed.

 

Go to Ulrichs Periodical Directory and enter your journal title into the search box. At journal record, scroll down to "Referred". 

    Ulrich is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.Covers periodicals, annuals, and irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily and weekly U.S. newspapers; newspapers published outside of the U.S; and cessations since 1979. Provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.

 You should be able to read the publisher's information within each journal issue or visit the publisher's site to confirm that the journal is peer reviewed.

 

Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Publications

 

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (ASU Library, a voice over tutorial)http://www.asu.edu/lib/tutorials/article-types/

Hours and Locations