When searching a research database, click Get It!@ASU for options to access full-text.
From Get it @ ASU options - click on "Get Article" to access full text
If you see a note saying "Sorry, ASU does not have online access to this article"
PubMed: Open Access! The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Open access searching interface for 'Medline.' Includes references from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
More Nursing & Health Related Research Databases
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Assessment & Other Assessment Videos: Resource Provided by the ASU College of Nurising and Health Innovation Simulation & Learning Resources (SLR) Center.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse: NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
Physical Education Index: Search to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, patients pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.
Scopus: Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of health and science content from around the world.
SPORTS Discus: Search a topic to retrieve journal citations and abstracts covering all areas of sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education & training. Full-text contains content from books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and journal & magazine articles.
Trip Database: Open access meta-search engine focusing on high level evidence including clinical trials. Contains content that can be found in PubMed or Cochrane among other things.
Google Scholar: enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. *Always access Google Scholar via ASU Library for links to full-text from ASU Library subscription resources.
Find out if an article was published in a journal that uses peer-review:
For more information on peer-reviewed articles and different article types see: