Login to LibApps

Nursing: Health Statistics & Data

Guide for library resources in the Nursing field
Subjects: Nursing

Places to Begin

FastStats (CDC) -  Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages

Proquest Statistical Insight - Includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations.  Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations. 

Local & State Health Statistics

Arizona Department of Health Services Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Arizona.

Maricopa County Department of Public Health Statistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to Maricopa County.

State Health Facts - State health statistics from the Kaiser Foundation.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC) - "State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury"

County Health Rankings - County Health Rankings and statistics.

You can also find state level data in other national level resources found on this guide such as the CDC.

Global & Country-Specific Health Statistics

World Health Organization (WHO) - WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.

World Bank Health Stats overview - from the World Bank

  • Health Stats Portal the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education.

OECD Health Statistics - Data and statistics from the Orgenisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

 

More Health Statistics & Guidelines

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more.

Centers for Disease Control The CDC provides data and statistics on a variety of topics including diseases, immunizations, healthy water, and life expectancy.

Cancer.gov - Find cancer data and statistics.

HealthData.gov - Find Health Data on a variety of topics.

National Center for Health Statistics Part of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.   

National Guideline Clearinghouse Initiative of AHRQ providing users with an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Other Statistics Guides

For business statistics, demographic information, government statistics, and other types of data and statistics not directly related to health check out several of these other guides:

Hours and Locations